DEV Community

Cover image for Ghost keyboard shortcuts and shortcodes 🚀
Benjamin Rancourt
Benjamin Rancourt

Posted on • Originally published at benjaminrancourt.ca on

Ghost keyboard shortcuts and shortcodes 🚀

You probably already know that I use Ghost CMS as my backend, as I particularly like their interface and editor. There are few keyboard shortcuts like every software, but they are not strongly visible... If you want to use them, you need to find them in their documentation. 😅

As I haven't mastered them all yet, I decided to write this personal cheat sheet to refer to if I need to. 🤓

I also added some shortcodes that we can use to write posts. Some of them are from the Markdown syntax , so you may recognize them if you are familiar. 🤠

If you know any other shortcuts, let me know!

Hope this cheat sheet helps you too! 😘

Code

Inline code: Ctrl + Shift + K

Block code: ```

language + Enter OR

 ``` + Enter
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

Emphasis

  • Bold : Ctrl + B
  • Italics: Ctrl + I
  • Underline: Ctrl + U
  • Strike : Ctrl + Alt + U
  • Superscript: ^Superscript^
  • Subscript: ~Subscript~

Functionalities

  • Preview the post: Ctrl + P
  • Return to the editor while in preview (if not inside a tab): Esc
  • Save the modifications: Ctrl + S

Headings

  • Mark text as a title h2: Ctrl + H
  • Continue to the next heading (text 🡒 h2 🡒 h3 🡒 h4 🡒 h5 🡒 h6 🡒 text): Ctrl + H
  • h1: Ctrl + Alt + 1
  • h2: Ctrl + Alt + 2
  • h3: Ctrl + Alt + 3
  • h4: Ctrl + Alt + 4
  • h5: Ctrl + Alt + 5
  • h6: Ctrl + Alt + 6

Lists

  1. Ordered list: 1. item 1
  • Unordered list: * item 1 or Ctrl + L

Others

Quote a block: Ctrl + Q

  • Defines a hyperlink: Ctrl + K
  • Add a special block, such an image: / on a new line

Top comments (0)