DEV Community

Cover image for New tech start-ups
Bernard Baker
Bernard Baker

Posted on

New tech start-ups

I read an article from @foundsiders. And my response to their post https://dev.to/foundsiders/are-early-stage-startups-dead-by-default-when-coronavirus-is-causing-significant-harm-to-the-world-s-economy-345f is below.


I think that start-ups that are disruptive in any industry or economy get noticed by the right people.

With the current world crisis, funding is bleak. But a lean start-up has more chance in surviving the storm which is yet to come. Adapting a business model is also key at this moment in time. And I don't personally condone companies which make a profit from the suffering or loss of people.

I recently created a start-up, lean, agile and with very limited capital. Just one team member. Well two, Googles search AI. I intend to shift the focus of consumer interest, raise awareness and promote, action and help attain UN sustainability goals.

My reason for this is that I knew I wanted to create the start-up, I revised the product offering once in the very early days of attendance to a business boot camp. And I knew deep inside me that I had a purpose which in time, became clearer and clearer as I found it difficult to decide on the course of a business operational goal. I knew I wanted to make a change in the world. For the better. But how I would do this. That was a challenge in its self.

The world we live in has changed dramatically in the past months. I want to make a change in the world. And make it a better place.


What I didn't mention, which I thought about just now, is that many of the seeded start-ups are going to have a considerable difficult time generating revenue in sales of products/services, etc with the current global crisis which has just started.

But what I want you all to know is that you can do it. You can create a lean, agile, start-up and prepare for the recovery of the world crisis. We just don't know yet. When that will be. I think it will be a couple of years. But maybe 8 months before people are back to work.


Credits:

Top comments (0)