DEV Community

Cover image for Tydii - Decluttering App
Bennett Dungan
Bennett Dungan

Posted on

Tydii - Decluttering App

As a follow-up to my How to Escape Tutorial Hell article, I referenced this little app I was building off to the side to use as my showcase example. This app is the product of following through with that whole process I laid out.

Check it out here: https://www.tydiiup.com

It's a mixture of my interest in minimalism and as something to practice using NextJS and React. The idea, in a nutshell, is that people have emotional ties to their belongings which makes getting rid of certain items harder than others. The app allows the user to rate each individual item they are on the fence about keeping on a 'happiness' scale denoted by facial expressions. Once you're done with that, it filters out the things you weren't completely happy with and brings you to a dash that helps you keep track of the items that you're either selling or donating (or throwing away, lol).

tydii item input

The part I upgraded the past couple months was implementing a user login system which encrypts and stores user data in a MongoDB database. I then built a dashboard that helps people keep track of their things as they get rid of them.

tydii dash

It's by no means perfect, but I've come to a point in this project that Im okay with some of the imperfections and will circle back to them at a later date.

I essentially built it for myself when I go through bouts of decluttering. I hope some of you also find it useful as well. Feel free to (deep breath...) check out the code on Github. Im sure it could use lots of improvements!

Top comments (0)