DEV Community

Cover image for My Experience on Hacktoberfest 2020
Bhaswati-Saha
Bhaswati-Saha

Posted on

My Experience on Hacktoberfest 2020

About Me
Hi everyone!!
Although,am new to this community but am very much excited to share my experience on Hacktoberfest 2020.So, I got to know about this community through DigitalOcean's Hacktoberfest 2020.Coming to my profile, currently am pursuing my B.tech in 3rd year on Computer Science and Engineering.I am very much interested in development field and always eager to learn new technology related stuffs.I joined this community to get inspired and learn many such tech related stuffs which am yet to explore.I hope I will be able to learn a lot from this community.

I am very much thankful to DigitalOcean for giving me the opportunity to share my experience on Hacktoberfest 2020.

Background
This year I participated in Hacktoberfest and it was my first time experience in Open Source Contribution. I am a beginner to intermediate level coder.I use to take participation on coding contests like Codechef long challenge. As mentioned earlier, I am very much interested in development field like app and web development and have done a few courses and projects in these fields.

Progress
I am contented to share that I have successfully completed all my four PR's and those were also merged with the master branch of the repository I had contributed to. Also, all the PR's got reviewed successfully. I got to learn more about how to do Open Source Contribution through this event.I am happy that although I am new in this field still I could manage to complete my four PR's and hope to get more such opportunities to learn and explore new things.

Contributions
The following four PR's are the list of contributions which I have made in this year's Hacktoberfest.

1.Added four course list in the repo mega-course-recommender.
Link:
https://github.com/arpancodes/mega-course-recommender/pull/150
2.Added a Java solution code to an issue named Diamond Square in
the repo cool_code_snippets.
Link:
https://github.com/Developer-Students-Club-
MAIT/cool_code_snippets/pull/29
3.Added another Java solution code to an issue named Longest
Common Subsequence in the repo cool_code_snippets.
Link:
https://github.com/Developer-Students-Club-
MAIT/cool_code_snippets/pull/30
4.Added another Java solution code to an issue named Flames Game
in the repo cool_code_snippets.
Link:
https://github.com/Developer-Students-Club-
MAIT/cool_code_snippets/pull/42

Reflections
Hacktoberfest 2020 was really a great experience for me.I have gained lot of knowledge through this event.This event made me confident and strong enough to explore and participate in more such events.Hoping to take part in the next year's Hacktoberfest event and try to contribute to many more great projects and improve myself with the flow.

THANK YOU

Top comments (0)