DEV Community

Ian bradbury
Ian bradbury

Posted on

How to get started with Andrtoid development?

Advice please. (Sensible)

What sites and lists should I frequent if I would like to learn about Android development?

I am a proficient iOS / Swift developer - so I am looking for somethnig that will help me translate iOS concepts to Android concepts.

Is there a:

  • tutorial series
  • blog
  • community site

That you can recomend?

Top comments (4)

Collapse
 
francisco profile image
Francisco M. Delgado • Edited

If you have a proficient enough understanding of Java, I'd go for the free content Udacity has on Android development.

If you're looking for Android dev with Kotlin, check out Letsbuildthatapp on youtube. He primarily does videos on iOS development, but he's published some videos with kotlin and I think more is on the way.

youtu.be/PRYPafLAYps

Collapse
 
bizzibody profile image
Ian bradbury

+!
Thanks @francisco . I'll check out the Kotlin videos.

Collapse
 
mattbidewell profile image
Matthew Bidewell • Edited

The official Android docs is a great place to start!

developer.android.com/guide/index....

Since you understand swift then picking this up would not be hard at all, good luck!

EDIT: This is also a really good podcast that talks all about android development:
fragmentedpodcast.com/

Collapse
 
chrisvasqm profile image
Christian Vasquez

I find these to be really good learning sources: