DEV Community

Ogechi Ike
Ogechi Ike

Posted on

Wanderlust: A Developer's Journey - Part 1

Leather Bound Journal on top of a Used and Highlighted World Map
Photo is by Kira auf der Heide. Check out their work

What got me started on this journey?

I was in a rut. I guess I was in a headspace that could best be described as 'sad, frustrated, and desperately looking for something better'.

I've been struggling to get into tech for years. I got a job as a front-end developer/web designer at a small agency, but it wasn't meant to be. I got a certification in 2019, but it was to no avail.

I kept thinking that I've done something wrong when compared to my peers constantly pouring over all of my steps since I arrived at university in 2012.

Recently, I took a part-time job in the fulfillment center at a large retail company.

After a few months, I finally got the resolve that I've been missing for awhile.

Where am I right now in my journey?

Right now I'm working on building Whanderluhst, a glassdoor type fullstack web application.

I want to add onto a web app that I worked on with a small team which was an evolution of my senior thesis.

Where do I want to go?

My end goal is to become a UI/UX or Front End Engineer.

How will I get there?

The hard way. I want to be able to feel like I've earned the job. This might stem from my anxiety and imposter syndrome (I'm working on that as well).

What steps have I taken so far in this post?

Well, I've decided to start this journey and I'm sharing my progress with all of you.

I'm working on some of the designs which I'll be sharing in the next post.

What are my next steps?

The next steps of my journey is to work on what I want to feature and design the UX and UI for the app.

How do I feel about it?

I'm super nervous about on this and even more about sharing my progress, but the regret of not doing something outweighs my anxiety.

Hopefully, this will be a fun adventure!

Thanks for reading!!

Top comments (0)