DEV Community

Cover image for Starting a new project
Abhishek Prajapati
Abhishek Prajapati

Posted on

Starting a new project

Starting again ...

So I have decided to write again. The idea is to document and keep track of how things are growing with time, it is more of a
keeping track of things for me. Initially when I was into web hacking, I used to write a lot of writeups for the machines I hacked (on hack the box platform) but I eventually left that and started working as a developer.

I have decided to write again regarding everything I do in tech. So, with that out of the way. lets start with the topic.

Project

I recently came across the problem of updating the packages in package.json, It is quite a challenge when you have so many packages and don't know which packages are out of date so the only solution is to check each package manually.

So, in order to solve this problem I have decided to build a tool to help people see which packages are out of date and what is the latest version of the package.

It is going to be a mainly a frontend application where the user can upload a package.json file and the app goes through each package and lets the user see the latest version of the package.

Next steps ...

The next step is to ACTUALLY build this thing, this is not a big project but more of a useful tool to have around (for some people at least). Even if someone decides to steal this idea, this post is going to be the proof of I came up with it first, although if someone has already built something like this, then they could say the same thing about me. Anyways, see you folks around.

Will think of the name later on

Top comments (0)