DEV Community

Brian Meinert
Brian Meinert

Posted on

Fixing Azure CI/CD For My Azure Resume Site

A while back I created my personal CV site that I'm hosting in an azure storage $web container. I use this site as another place to host all my credentials and links to myself, as well as host my resume. When I first created my CI/CD workflow everything was working flawlessly when I went through my testing, until recently. I made some major updates to my page, and I then noticed that my site wasn't updating when I'd make my pushes. I went to my repository page and did a quick check on my jobs and saw that I wasn't getting any failed workflows. The next thing I did was hop into the azure portal and check the caching rules on the endpoint. After seeing everything was set up the way I wanted it to be, I then decided to do a manual purge of the endpoint to see if the change would come through, also, with no luck on the updates again. I went back into my GitHub repo and did a deep dive into the build files. Everything in the first 3 steps of the job were running smoothly, but then came to the upload to blob storage. After reading through the workflow file I noticed that it wasn't updating the blob storage because it had already existed, prompting me to add --overwrite command to my azure cli script in my YAML file. I quickly updated the file, committed my changes and low and behold we have working CI/CD again!

It's always frustrating when things stop working or aren't working as expected, but the reward of solving a problem and seeing everything finally running correctly again and so rewarding to me. Sometimes it's the simplest fix, such as for this situation adding a simple command to my script, sometimes it's not, but the roller coaster ride of the challenge of the fix always leaves me feeling good when the task is complete, and we're back up and running.

Top comments (0)