DEV Community

Cover image for Help me to show the 🥳 fun at work in your country.
Bogomil Shopov - Бого
Bogomil Shopov - Бого

Posted on

Help me to show the 🥳 fun at work in your country.

Pre-history

My career in IT started as a servant to programmers, fixing a line or two in the code, and now I am a director in a vast international privacy company. If I look back, it was different. Oh gosh, we had so much fun in the past.

Do you remember the chair rowing? Do you remember us singing IT songs and directing movies about Java while writing funny RFCs?

Recently, most of the world decided that IT is an elite profession that needs to produce only value no matter what.

This is a great tragedy, and we should rectify it. Why do we have feelings, emotions, and personalities if we no longer have fun?

What's the project about?

I want to collect "evidence" that the fun 🥳 is still in our technology-driven hearts. And I want **proof **from every country in the world.

How can you help?

I want your wild input on how you have fun at work.

Option One: Video

If you feel brave, you can talk with me (online or offline) and answer a few questions (5 minutes tops). I will send them to you in advance.

Option Two: Text

You can contribute to a Git repo and share your links or a short <p> on how you have fun working as IT in your country and region.

Option Three: Share 🙏🏼

If you still want to help but prefer to keep videos or knowledge private, you can share this article with your peers, and someone could share their story with me.

What's in for you?

All of the videos will mention your name (unless you don't want to) and be published under Creative Commons CC BY license, so apart from sharing your part of the story, you will be famous.

Apart from the fame, if I can raise some money, I will ensure you get a nice T-shirt for this project.

I am in! How to get started?

👉 Fill in this form to show interest, and I will contact you when the project starts (sooner than you expect).

If you want to keep your real e-mail private from me, use a service like this to mask your e-mail. But please check your e-mail often for the event activity.

Trust

This is a hobby project unrelated to any company or commercial interest. My website is a good start if you want to learn more about me before jumping into it. And here is me, talking about fun at work at a conference.

Photo by Tolu Akinyemi on Unsplash

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
bogomil profile image
Bogomil Shopov - Бого

Please share it, like, and comment on it for more visibility. Thanks!