DEV Community

Cover image for What challenges did I have when I included a local version of my name in social media?
Bogomil Shopov - Бого
Bogomil Shopov - Бого

Posted on

What challenges did I have when I included a local version of my name in social media?

Hi, I come from Bulgaria, a country in the Balkans.

Looking back on history, apart from how it shaped my short-fuze Balkan DNA, I feel proud of my nation's adoption of the Cyrillic alphabet. I embraced that and changed my public profile name to almost every online platform to include a Cyrillic version of my nickname. So I became Bogomil Shopov—Бого.

Then, challenges arose. Here is a list of some of them if you want to follow my lead or learn how to be more inclusive.

Pi%s off, b&^%oody Russian.

The situation with the war in Ukraine brought hate to all people using the Cyrillic alphabet. This statement usually comes from people with low education unable to understand that not only people in Russia use this alphabet but also other 125 million people.

Fonts mismatch

Some websites use fonts that do not support Cyrillic encoding, and you see the vast visual difference between the name in English and Bulgarian. No maker expects a string to use two different encodings, and sometimes, we misdesign our systems, expecting specific encoding. The good thing is that it only happens sometimes.


screenshot from a website

What does "Бого" mean?

I made a mistake when I added the name. I needed to explain how to read it to people. Some websites allow me to add something to my profile description.


screenshot of a website, showing my name and a description of how it;s read

Embrace who you are and find your unique way to say it to the world.


Photo by Dragos Gontariu on Unsplash

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
ingosteinke profile image
Ingo Steinke • Edited

Every maker should expect any string to support any international glyph thanks to UTF-8. When people add emojis everywhere, why should Cyrillic be more problematic? But I think it can be confusing to our brains to see two related alphabets on the same line. I remember a German journalist claimed that he had visited a restaurant named "Pectopah". Put that in caps, it becomes "PECTOPAH" ("restoran") , and you will understand why there is no place with that name.

Collapse
 
bogomil profile image
Bogomil Shopov - Бого

Pectopah - That's my favorite place on earth :)

On the UX topic:
Some fonts for example have different faces for Latin and Cyrilic or they default to something else. It's rare these days, but I still see it!

Thanks for jumping in!