DEV Community

Cover image for AWS Re/Start program experience
Ben Browning
Ben Browning

Posted on

AWS Re/Start program experience

AWS now do bootcamps? Wait what!

AWS/reStart is a free full time program over 12 weeks, designed to prepare you with the pre-requisite skills for a career in cloud computing. The AWS re/Start is a global program, which I am lucky to have the opportunity to be a part of in New Zealand. The most exciting benefit of the program is that it partners students with internships at the end of the course.

Week 1 - 4

I am currently up to week 4 of the AWS/Restart program yikes! So far we have covered hardware, introduction to networking, introduction to cloud foundations, Github, basics of python programming and some linux/bash.

Image description

It's a lot to cover that's for sure, fortunately I have studied in my own time prior to the course and have a good grasp of linux, python and AWS services.

The Learning Platform & Course Content

In conjunction with class based learning AWS has supplemented the program with an online learning platform with lectures, interactive labs and quizzes. I have made good use of this after class to solidify my learning.

What's next?

Week 6 is interviews with employers where I will get the chance to show off my knowledge and meet the internship partners.

In terms of the curriculum we still have databases, security, AWS services and more to come.

Top comments (0)