DEV Community

Cover image for Building Nebula - Prologue: A beginning
Marius Kluften
Marius Kluften

Posted on • Originally published at kluften.dev

Building Nebula - Prologue: A beginning

A Function-as-a-Service platform powered by WebAssembly, built with Rust

By now, you might have stumbled upon this well-known quote:

If WASM+WASI existed in 2008, we wouldn't have needed to created Docker.
That's how important it is. Webassembly on the server is the future of
computing. A standardized system interface was the missing link. Let's hope
WASI is up to the task!
Solomon Hykes, founder of Docker

It's a bold statement that has been circulating ever since. I'm currently exploring this vision, where I've embarked on an adventure to build a FaaS prototype that exclusively runs WebAssembly modules. The goal? To discover the potential computational and energy efficiency such an approach might offer, forming the backbone of my master's thesis research.

In essence, I aim to compare the performance and efficiency of predominant FaaS platforms - such as AWS Lambdas, Google Cloud Functions and Azure systems - against a system that rapidly initialises Wasm modules, executes the underlying function, and promptly shuts them down.

Finding my Master thesis topic

I'm building this prototype in order to perform some experiments for my Master's Thesis as part of my Master's degree in Programming and System Architecture at
the University of Oslo. I initially started on this degree back in 2017, after achieving my bachelor's degree in Computer Engineering from OsloMet, but decided to jump off after the first semester when I got a job offer for working fulltime
as a ServiceNow consultant.

Ever since then, I've had 1/4th of a degree completed, and decided to pick it up again in 2022 and attempt to finish it part time. At UiO there's a clear preference for "long" master theses, meaning that 50% of your degree is made up
of the thesis itself. In order to motivate myself to this undertaking that would occupy most of my free time, I decided to focus on what technologies I would like to see myself working on in the future, and was lucky enough to land a
thesis project where I could dive into the Rust and WebAssembly ecosystem.

I can attribute the initial idea for my master's thesis to the podcast episode "Fermyon with Matt Butcher" from the Rustacaen Station Podcast. Fermyon is a Cloud company that are heavily invested in the WebAssembly space, and in the episode Matt Butcher, the CEO of Fermyon, tells the story of how Fermyon came to be, and why they decided to build a Cloud platform that only allows developers to run programs that can be compiled to WebAssembly. In his explanation, he mentioned that they observed rather insane startup times compared to more typical container based function-as-a-service offerings out there, going from comparable service in a Docker container taking 300ms+ just to start up, down to sub 1ms startup times for a comparable Wasm module delivering the same functionality.

Visual graph comparing startup time of Docker vs Wasm

Furthermore, as they advertise on their own
webpage they saw that with Wasm modules they were able to achieve image/binary sizes down to ~1% of a comparable service packaged in Docker, from 230MB -> 3.2MB!

Visual comparison between a Docker image and Wasm module

Why purse a FaaS prototype?

These metrics presented by Fermyon and the WebAssembly community are nothing short of remarkable. They've summarised their vision in the "third wave of cloud computing", with Virtual machines being the first wave and Containerisation
(Docker) being the second wave. This begs the question: What kind of energy savings might we achieve if the industry leans more into these efficient cloud technologies?

Guided by this curiosity - and with invaluable insight from my university supervisors - I formulated the hypothesis for my thesis:

It is possible to develop a Pure FaaS platform that scale to near-zero
resource usage, using WebAssembly modules

It's an ambitious objective, no doubt. Yet, this broad premise provides me ample space in how I end up building the prototype this fall. A cornerstone for this prototype? The principle of "pure" functionality.

Building a "Pure" FaaS

You've probably noticed the emphasis on "pure" in my hypothesis. In order to develop a prototype I can start experimenting on within the time-frame of a Master's thesis, I decided to scope it down to explore a FaaS platform that
operate on pure functions.

For those unaware of what a "pure function" is, it can be defined as such:

A pure function is a function that, given the same input, will always return
the same output and does not have any observable side effect.
Mostly Adequate

This principle of purity assures consistent output for consistent output, a quality that opens up for interesting experimenting. This will allow me to explore some interesting orchestration and caching patterns for functions
deployed to the platform, much like a hypothetical example illustrated below:

Simple illustration on a chain of function calls

Naturally, building such a dynamic system has its challenges, and there's always a risk of overextending the scope of my thesis. Thus, my focus might lean more towards experimenting with pre-defined functions on the platform. We'll see!

If you've journeyed with me this to this point, I really appreciate your time and interest! I'm excited about sharing more technical details down the line, and you can read more when my first chapter gets published!

Link to repo: https://github.com/brehen/nebula

Top comments (0)