DEV Community

Tithi
Tithi

Posted on • Updated on

My GDSC Application Answers-2023

*Community questions for the first round*
NB- These are my personal answers based on which, I got selected for the coding round. If anyone wishes to copy from this, I strongly suggest not to, but you can take pointers from this & move on.
All the best for Your Application!
This application was for opening the first ever GDSC in my college.

What is your motivation to run a Google Developer Student Club at your Institution?

I am in the core team of the coding club at my college, i.e. Budge Budge Institute of Technology, Kolkata, West Bengal, India. I am a team member of Kotlin Kolkata UG & GDG Kolkata. I have also been a volunteer of the organising team of Flutter Forward Extended Kolkata, 2023. Apart from these pivotal roles, am also a member of much smaller, student driven communities.
• I love connecting with people, establishing meaningful relationships for people, learn something new, share opportunities, make interested people benefit from the vast amount of resources available by cherry-picking the best ones out of the lot. The events provide me new things to learn every occasion, for which, I love being a part of communities. I love doing this and would probably do this for the rest of my life.
•Having a GDSC is like having a cherry on the top- since we have a lot of students wanting to participate in programs, get acquainted with technological terms, gain experience in their existing skill set or to gain certifications- it would mean an offline, local network of developers who are ready to help with queries, projects and stuff incase the help acquired from other sources require verification. After some programs like GCCP & Jetpack Compose Camp started allowing only those students who had a GDSC in their campus to enroll, we were left heartbroken. That's why, we need a GDSC-which would make the knowledge of Cloud more accessible to the people when certain institute based restrictions occur. Extensive events have a higher retention rate in my college as compared to Arcade games which may feel repetitive after a while. Moreover, getting a GDSC would also mean that the student community of my college would get access to exclusive GDSC only events, like GDSC WOW & Solution Challenge. We could also use the GDSC Chapter to upskill the faculty on google technologies, help them in clearing some of the certification exams. My college community needs a GDSC, I'll do anything to open it.

What is your experience in leading a project or a team?

Being the content lead of Kotlin Kolkata UG, it was quite challenging at times to manage the different type of content required for social media posts, brochures, emails, speaker session introductions, etc, all to be rolled out within a short period of time, while keeping the audience engaged at the same time- just before flagship events. Had to sleep for 3 hours the day before the event, with the work flowing continuously. The content work, after the the event, ended up on the local e-newspapers. Had to use the divide & conquer technique to pull it off.
• The best part of being a leader is, that I get the adrenaline rush of selecting the best work among the ones done by the other team members, be the one solving the problems with the team instead of commanding them to work. Leadership is about providing guidance to others while they are in the stages that I too was as a complete newbie in the field. It also helps to bud a lot of connections, have fun while working, piling up gratification once all the hard work pays off and last but not the least, having a wonderful time with the amazing teammates. Sleepless nights, examinations, go hand in hand, but a Leader finds the time to successfully manage all, hand in hand while making others comfortable with dealing all of that pressure, getting the job done on time. And, nothing can be better than a happy mind going to bed knowing that people left positive reviews about the work I did. Other than that, I have volunteered for in person events as well, and for example, I was a part of registration desks, food and swag counters on the day of the events, when all of the other volunteers relied on my guidance to make the process smoother. We got positive reviews on our service, and were applauded for our efforts. Here is a link to one of the events where I was in the volunteering team-

What is your experience with technology?

•I really think that AI-ML is booming these days. That works wonders and has the potential to replace jobs-it is powerful and interesting •Technology makes living in these days easier- so, connecting with people, establishing meaningful relationships, all over the world, instantly, possible. Technology, when used on humanitarian grounds, has a great potential for promising results. My current tech stack includes Figma (design), Java, HTML-CSS, C. Am learning kotlin at this moment.
• I participate in a lot of hackathons, so I get to know about technology and stuff. Occasionally, I get to try out their services for free & honestly, am quite impressed about how they say their tech can be used to revolutionise lives. I have provided feedback to the people who might be using it & to those who developed it, for improvements and how to use the tech to its maximum capacity. If the project is open sourced and needs improvement, I try to contribute to the issues as much as I can. I also plan to write blogs in the near future.
• Being a core engineering student, we have the usage of cloud computing, AIML, App & Web dev, IoT in our curriculum- in the form of theory, practicals as well as projects. Also, being a regular participant of departmental seminars based on topics like cyber security, paired up with placement classes of building scalable apps & websites, I can say that my curriculum involves technical fields.

Top comments (0)