DEV Community

Cover image for MY CODING JOURNEY SO FAR
Onwuemeri Bright
Onwuemeri Bright

Posted on

MY CODING JOURNEY SO FAR

A MUST-READ!!!

Hello,

My name is Onwuemeri Bright, I'm from the Southern Part of Nigeria, and I grew up in Agbor(Owa-alero). I'm a student at Delta State Polytechnic Ozoro and am currently in my 20s,

Well, I've got interest in Software Development And Forex Trading. But today I'm only writing on Software Development!!

It's great to be here, and I am looking forward to working with the online space.

Way back in 2019/2020, I had my first experience with coding. Back then, I used Notepad++ as my code editor, and I learnt a few basics of coding, like HTML and CSS. It was quite fun, but due to the reason, best known to me, I quit.

Fast forward to 2023, I took the journey again, but this time with much dedication seriousness and mostly supports from my family ( my mom and my elder brother).

So this time around, I got a new tutor with the mindset of being a Full Stack Developer and kick-starting my journey on the 7th of February, 2023. First, he introduced the subject course and everything to me, after we had to get some software applications installed (for me), so I got my Visual Studio Code, a GitHub desktop application, Stackoverflow, and others.

So far, I've good knowledge of Html while I still struggle with CSS. I'm glad I've got 35% knowledge of Html, including its characters and attributes and CSS of 10% knowledge/skill of.

  1. PROJECTS

I'm proud to say I can work on my website frontend with the help of my tutor as always, though it hasn't been hosted yet. But yeah, it's something I'm proud of because it has only been 6 weeks since I started the journey and now I have something that could take 3 months or more to learn not to talk of building it.

Along the line, I had an idea for another project I worked on, it's a Barbershop though, I got the idea based on its where I take my shavings from and I was able to build an interface for that Barbershop.

  1. My Journey

So far, I've learnt something about myself;
Putting God First: One can't do without the direction of Jehovah, so I make sure that I commit my daily activities to his hands.

Dedication: I made sure that I had the full mindset of what I wanted and how to achieve them.

Consistency: I've learnt to show up each day no matter how good/ bad the day is, I made sure that I can learn something new in the Coding World.

Hard work: Nothing works without hard work. I had to stay ready without getting ready!! Get the logic.

Challenges::
One of my biggest challenges here in coding is trying to remember each code line without having to look at my desktop or PC for guidance.

Overcoming::
So I did my best to always write off the head, and so far, it has been helping!! And be consistent and hardworking, there's no other way!

  1. My Advice

Be questionable.
Pay attention to each detail.
Be eager to learn.
Don't depend fully on what your tutor is teaching you.

My mistakes;
Don't be hard on yourself.
Enjoy the process.
Avoid errors, it results in debugging and kills vibes.

  1. My Goals

I want to be in a position where I can be a solution provided to the nation.

I want to be limitless.

And to make more money.

  1. STAY BLESSED AND ALWAYS BE HAPPY FOR OTHERS WINS πŸ† ✨️ YOURS IS NEARBY!!!

Top comments (7)

Collapse
 
justiceorogun profile image
Justice Orogun

Awesome!!!
I am proud of you bro!!!

The future is bright!!!

Collapse
 
britinogn profile image
Onwuemeri Bright

Thank you sir. As the name implies, it is Bright 🌞

Collapse
 
blessing0024 profile image
onome blessing

And here we GROW together!!!

Collapse
 
britinogn profile image
Onwuemeri Bright

Thank you! The sky our Limit

Collapse
 
nazariussss profile image
Nazarius

Good luck.

Collapse
 
britinogn profile image
Onwuemeri Bright

Thank you!! Still a long way to go.

Collapse
 
damilola_onasanya profile image
Oluwadamilola Onasanya

Me and you same experience. I actually learnt in 2019 but didn’t continue because my then job was paying more than I was being offered. Decided to start again this year. I hope I’m able to go through with everything this time. Let’s grow together πŸ«‚