DEV Community

Braelyn
Braelyn

Posted on

How I Got Started Developing Games

I taught myself to code in (or around) 2004 because I wanted my Neopets profile to play music - and I haven't looked back.

After graduating from college in 2014 and accepting the first job I was offered, I landed a job I actually liked in 2017. I started working as a FE Solutions Developer/Consultant with various clients across the Southeast USA.

Beginning in 2018, I started taking some online courses on game development and worked with a colleague to refine these skills. I chose game development initially for one reason - games are fun.

Note: There are developers out there who find immense joy in building complex systems with tons of integrations to solve a problem. These developers have incredibly valid interests and are no less impressive in my mind...but I am not one of them.

I wanted to challenge myself to learn something new, but I also wanted my new skills to produce something accessible for my friends and family who aren't as technically gifted. Games can be incredibly simple to play while still challenging to create.

As I learned more, I realized there are a number of reasons game development skills make sense for developers outside of the freelance and game dev environments:

  • Almost everyone plays games so it's a great way to expand into new markets
  • Businesses are taking notice and workplace gamification is ramping up
  • Game development is still code and any practice makes you better

Today, I am building games for clients and for fun. I've held trainings for my team on game development technologies like Unity and established myself as a reliable source of knowledge - and I get paid to play games test software at work.

Top comments (9)

Collapse
 
artoodeeto profile image
aRtoo

Do you have resources for super-duper beginners? I'm a junior dev but I wanted to transition from full-stack to game (mobile or PC) or security. Can you use go lang for building games?

Collapse
 
brsullivan profile image
Braelyn

Not sure about golang for games. I've used Unity, JavaScript and Swift/iOS GameKit.

One of my previous posts links to some tutorials with Phaser that I wrote - or you can find more here.

Otherwise, I'd recommend just googling what you want to learn and looking for free tutorials to get started. Once you've got a better footing, it's worth paying for some of the beginner courses on Udemy, etc. when you can get a discount because they're very helpful.

Collapse
 
artoodeeto profile image
aRtoo

thanks for this. I tried phaser before and I thought its useless because every gaming company uses c++ and I only had experience in c++ when I was in uni. I ask golang because our company are about to use go lang. ANyway thank you so much.

Thread Thread
 
brsullivan profile image
Braelyn

If you want to actually work for a gaming company, I'd recommend a Pluraslight subscription and as many Unity + Unreal courses you can find. Those are the 2 big ones for actual game companies.

Thread Thread
 
artoodeeto profile image
aRtoo

cool thank you so much. :)

Collapse
 
missamarakay profile image
Amara Graham

We have #gamedev and #unity3d that might be interesting to you Braelyn!

Collapse
 
good3n profile image
Tom Gooden✨

“ Beginning in 2018, I started taking some online courses on game development”

Do you have any specifics on these?

Collapse
 
brsullivan profile image
Braelyn

My company paid for a Pluralsight subscription which I used to take most of the Unity Game Dev path. I also bought this one and this one on Udemy.

Collapse
 
good3n profile image
Tom Gooden✨

Thanks!