DEV Community

Brunner
Brunner

Posted on

as a developer, what do you regret the most?

There was a recent quora question, where a newbie developer asked:
"as a developer, what do you regret the most?"

A seasoned developer replied: "What I regret the most is that I spent too much time on the technical side. Learning the latest frameworks. And learning all new languages. But not finishing any side project. Always starting but not completing. A jack of all trades and master of none."

Do you also have something to share?

Top comments (3)

Collapse
 
ale_jacques profile image
Alexandre Jacques

Am I the mentioned seasoned developer? Because I have the exact same feelings and regrets after 25+ years on the trade.

I'm trying to compensate and being more focused nowadays. Trying to deliver more and worry less about tech. But, man, what a time wasted... (sure, I learned a lot but, still...)

Collapse
 
brunner1000 profile image
Brunner

Thanks for your comment and for sharing your story.
I believe you will be rewarded for the efforts you put up during those 25+ years.

Collapse
 
brunner1000 profile image
Brunner

Thank you for your feedback. I totally agree with you