DEV Community

Brunner
Brunner

Posted on

is getting a PhD in computer science beneficial to a software engineer?

This is my personal opinion on this:
First of all, I have a bachelor degree in computer science and not a PhD.

I have heard that to be a machine learning scientist for some tech companies, PhD is required.

For a software engineer, I don't think you need a PhD. Probably, that will take too much of your time.

The software field is consistently improving and you might be left behind while persuing your PhD. On less you are eyeing a role in some company, and that role requires that qualification.

This is just my opinion, what do you guys think?

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
pentacular profile image
pentacular

A PhD demonstrates that you can do original research.

If you want to do original research, a PhD provides the necessary experience and qualifications.

If you do not want to do research, a PhD is generally not useful. :)