DEV Community

Cover image for EatBeep - Simple drag-and-drop menu creator for restaurants
Ben Smith
Ben Smith

Posted on

EatBeep - Simple drag-and-drop menu creator for restaurants

What I built

A drag-and-drop web app to let restaurants easily publish their menu online. Complete with QR Code!

Category Submission:

It's a SAAS, intended for the built for business category.

App Link

www.eatbeep.com / demo.eatbeep.com

Screenshots

Screenshot of Signup screen

Screenshot of editor

Screenshot of editing a block

Screenshot of QR code

Description

Once signed up, the user can easily add blocks to the page and re-arrange them, quickly building a good looking menu. With just one click it's published online at a customisable subdomain.

Link to Source Code

https://github.com/eatbeep/eatbeep

Permissive License

MIT

Background

Sadly I've seen several of my favourite restaurants go out of business over the last year due to the pandemic, and I've been keen to find a way to help. I noticed there has been a steady growth in publishing menus online rather than printing them, which is both more hygienic and easier to update - and so this tool enables the transition.

How I built it

This is my first time building something with Elixir, with LiveView powering the UI. It's quite different from my usual stack (React, with Node API), but the end result is quite slick.
It's hosted on DO App Platform, which I was pleased with - once the Dockerfile was working, it was plain sailing.

Additional Resources/Info

Photo by Asnim Ansari on Unsplash

Top comments (0)