DEV Community

Burdette Lamar
Burdette Lamar

Posted on

Test Automation Sherpa

"Test Automation Professional / Zealot" is the title I have in my resume.

But I'm not a tester, and still less a "quality" engineer.

Then what am I?

To borrow from mountain-climbing vocabulary, I'm not a climber, I'm a sherpa -- one who does much of the heavy lifting, creates base camps, and keeps the climbers progressing happily and safely.

In that spirit, I aim to make it possible for others to do automated testing easily and reliably.

For a year now I've worked on my GitHub project, RubyTest, which embodies what I've learned in long years of building test automation.

It includes:

  • Core (application-independent) support:
    • Base classes
    • Helper classes
    • Logging
    • Reporting
  • Unit testing for the core (of course!).
  • Example domain-specific code:
    • Page objects, for web UI testing.
    • Endpoint objects, for TEST API testing.
    • Data objects, for both types of testing.
  • Example domain-specific tests.

Most recently, I've been building a Tester Tour of part of the project -- the part that demonstrates testing for a REST API and a web UI. (The demo test targets are GitHub's own REST API and web UI.)

TOURISTS WELCOME

You can see the tour here.

Any feedback appreciated, either as Issues on GH, comments here, or private email.

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

This is great, definitely sharing with the team