DEV Community

CallmeHongmaybe
CallmeHongmaybe

Posted on

Introducing Climatology

What I built

Essentially I built a search engine of climate data for over 120,000 locations.

Category Submission:

Due to the sheer amount of people NOT using this, this would definitely qualify as a Wacky Wildcard project.

App Link

Live Demo

Screenshots

I have no good screenshots but I hope a video would suffice.

Description

Climatology is a web app that provides comprehensive climate and weather data for over 120,000 locations around the world with a population of over 1,000. The app features three main sections: Climate, Monthly Averages, and Basic Forecast.

Link to Source Code

GitHub Repository

Permissive License

MIT License

Background

The fascination with cold weather inspired me to build an app that simulates how weather patterns can affect an area. My goal was to create a catalog of meteorological information for every location in the world that has a population over 1,000, providing users with an alternative to other weather apps on the market.

How I built it

I built Climatology using Next.js, MongoDB, Python, and R for data processing. GitHub Actions and Codespaces played a significant role in streamlining the development process, allowing me to test design ideas and REST APIs quickly.

During the development process, I learned a great deal about Next.js, MongoDB, using Postman for API testing, and scientific computing. I also improved my skills in handling Git version control and working with geolocation features.

Additional Resources/Info

For more detailed information about the development process and the journey I took to create Climatology, you can read my 4-part blog series describing the project's conception and final product.

Top comments (0)