DEV Community

Safia Abdalla
Safia Abdalla

Posted on • Updated on

Nevertheless, Safia Abdalla Coded

I began/continue to code because...

I love being able to create things. Envisioning an idea for an app, an animation, or a website and then being able to bring it to reality is a very empowering and fulfilling feeling.

I recently overcame...

Not to sound like the most depressing person on the planet, but every day there is something for me to overcome. Whether it's a homework assignment, I didn't do so well on, or a sales lead that I lost, or a fatal bug in my app that turned away a customer; something goes wrong every day. But every day, I overcome.

I want to brag about...

at the start of the new year, I made a commitment to publish three blog posts a week every week. This was part of my effort to empathize with writers on Zarf, a marketplace for the written word I created, and to improve my writing skills. I'm very proud of the fact that I've maintained this commitment for almost 9 weeks. I hope to continue fulfilling my commitment throughout the rest of the year.

My advice for allies to support women who code is....

put your money where your mouth is! Invite women to speak at conferences (and pay them!). Give women management tasks and challenging projects. Pay women what they are worth.

Top comments (0)