DEV Community

Christopher Arnold
Christopher Arnold

Posted on

I'm such a noob. node js frustration

just a quick vent session
update on my progress: I've been at this learning journey for about a year now. i got a solid handle on html, css, and basic vanilla js. I decided to start a react course today, and just setting up the environment threw me for a major loop.

Two steps forward one step back
I had already installed node and implemented it with tailwind css on a few projects. However, when trying to use it for a react environment, i run in to so many separate errors. So instead of starting with react components, in the next few days i will have to gain a better understanding of how node works, and how to use it with as few modules as possible.

While in the midst of tutorial hell, I re-downloaded node. It caused several errors and i was unable to follow my tutorial because the tutorial is from the context of someone who doesn't have node to begin with. I love js. Js is logical. Js is my friend. The terminal, and the way libraries work behind the scenes is like a potion to me. Just impliment it get it running, and don't think about how it works. a single threaded approach on learning works best for me. I've come to realize the importance of deciding the best thing to be learning at a given moment. An underlying goal is to develop the ability to intuitively decide when to dig deeper into a subject I'm on, when to back track, and when to integrate the next thing I need to learn.

Node has put me at another all too important crossroad, and I think its best for the time being to get a low-level understanding of how it works, and how to use it with multiple projects in the most efficient way possible.

Ultimately, becoming a better programmer is the goal, but i can make far more progress in the long term by growing as a learner.

I'm just logging my frustrations here in the meantime so I can later laugh at them a few years from now.

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
izio38 profile image
izio38

It's a normal part of the learning process, in a few months, or years, the same will apply with database low level stuff or so.

But, you have the correct path to victory, it's all about deeply understand things you manipulate. What you named low level stuff.

One little comment, don't name your topic Nodejs frustration because, it lead people to think you talking about backend stuff :)

Have a nice learning path , dev mate!

Collapse
 
carnold22265 profile image
Christopher Arnold

thank you!!