DEV Community

Carrye
Carrye

Posted on

Looking for advice

I am new to technical writing and looking for any advice or tips anyone would like to share. This will be a part of a new role I am seeking and I want to get started preemptively

Top comments (7)

Collapse
 
rahulshaw_dev profile image
Rahul Shaw • Edited

Find A Topic

Finding a topic is easy but consistently writing about is hard because at some point you will run out of ideas but never give up. I suggest you write about things which made you stuck for days because sometimes a small topic can save someone's time.

Just Start

You don't have to be Shakespeare in order to start writing. JUST START. Don't worry if you make mistakes, mistakes always improve us. When I was starting to blog I was very worried what will happen if I make grammatical mistakes(English is not my first langauge), but then after writing few blogs I realized that no one cares about your mistakes, everyone here care what great information you are providing. If English is also not your first language then I will suggest you use Grammarly. I also write blog you can check me here @rahulshawdev

Collapse
 
carryegaulin31 profile image
Carrye

This is such wonderful advice and I truly appreciate it! Thank you so very much!

Collapse
 
abhishekraj272 profile image
Abhishek Raj • Edited

After reaching 30k views within 10days on DEV, I think I am eligible to answer.

  1. Read top posts on whatever platform you want and find patterns how they are famous.

  2. Write/Post as much as you can.

  3. If your writing skills is not good, do some courses, quoting Roger here,

    Hi Carrye. Check Google’s Technical Writing courses. They are pretty basic, but far from useless. Good luck!

  4. DM anyone you want to ask for help, do not hesitate.

  5. Give credits when you use others help, it build credibility.

Cheers :)

Collapse
 
carryegaulin31 profile image
Carrye

Thank you this is incredibly helpful and exciting. I really appreciate the do not hesitate part sometimes I worry about being annoying, which is silly because I know I would be beyond happy to share anything I have expertise in.

Collapse
 
rogertorres profile image
Roger Torres (he/him/ele)

Hi Carrye. Check Google’s Technical Writing courses. They are pretty basic, but far from useless. Good luck!

Collapse
 
carryegaulin31 profile image
Carrye

Thank you so much! I really appreciate the advice. Can't wait to check it out!

Collapse
 
cibrax profile image
Cibrax

Try to use Informal writing. It is better to communicate and describe how things work. You are writing for collegues, not a contract or report for your manager. I hope it helps!