DEV Community

Cover image for Crushing it: My New Year's Resolutions for 2024
Christine Belzie
Christine Belzie

Posted on • Updated on

Crushing it: My New Year's Resolutions for 2024

Time for A New Beginning

Through the time I've been documenting my tech journey, I've learned this golden rule: speak your goals, make them a reality. So, here's my 2024 game plan!

Professional Goals:

  1. Goal: To gain a fully remote full time or part-time IT HelpDesk role
  2. Action Steps:
  3. Take an course or training program on IT Support: As someone who is still fairly new to tech, taking a course on this subject would help me gain the knowledge needed to succeed in this role.
  4. Hands-on Implementation: I'm a firm believer in that you gain experience through action, so I plan on finding open source projects or remote apprenticeship programs where I can put these skills into practice. Any suggestions?
  5. Timeline: Complete the course mid-2023 and pass the Comptia+ exam soon after.

Goal for DEV Community:

  1. Contribution Goal: To foster more knowledge to the Dev.to community
  2. Collaboration Plans:
  • Do more documentation-related and code contributions to Forem's repository
  • Publish more articles on Dev.to and Hashnode.
  • Offer more comprehensive feedback to people's articles as a Dev.to moderator.
  • Measuring Impact:
  • Keeping an eye on responses to my posts and feedback.
  • Chatting with moderators about the value of my open-source contributions.

Until Next Time!

And that folks are my 2024 resolutions! Stay tuned for the journey ahead! 🚀✨

Top comments (6)

Collapse
 
khloeabrown profile image
Khloe Brown

Best of luck with your goals of learning more about tech and evolving your skills! You got this! 💪

Is there anything you want to tackle learning first? What area(s) of tech are you interested in? Maybe I can help with some ideas or sources to learn from 😀

Collapse
 
cbid2 profile image
Christine Belzie • Edited

Thanks @khloeabrown! :) I just learned about Catalye’s apprenticeship program and Apprenti’s apprenticeship program. Maybe you can connect me with people who have taken these programs?

Collapse
 
pavelee profile image
Paweł Ciosek

Great resolutions! Keep it up! 🙌

Collapse
 
spaceofmiah profile image
Osazuwa J. Agbonze

Rooting for you Christine 🤞

Collapse
 
cbid2 profile image
Christine Belzie

Thank you! 😊

Collapse
 
lymah profile image
Lymah

LG @cbid2!