DEV Community

Chris Boveda
Chris Boveda

Posted on

Time Warp

It has been quite a while since I last worked on my game, Project YOMI. It's been an even longer while since I last wrote here. I ask you, dear reader, that you forgive me for my absence, as I have been a bit preoccupied with a very important life event--my wedding! This past weekend, after six years of dating and two years of engagement, my wife and I got married at sunset at an Oregon winery. It was a wonderful weekend of celebration, connecting with friends and family, and joy.

Image description

A wedding, like other major life events, has a bit of a time dilation effect. Each day leading up to it seemed to pass by quicker than the day before. So, despite my promise to myself to make at least one contribution to this project each day, it was more important to me to spend time helping with the planning and preparation of the wedding. Now though, with that incredible weekend behind us, and looking ahead to future plans and goals, I am ready to resume this work.

The time away from the project has allowed me some time to reflect on my approach and my vision. Here are some notes and reminders to myself as I dive back in to this game:

  • Finish the design.
  • Done is better than perfect.
  • Don't get caught up in pre-optimizing.
  • Lastly, start thinking of a title... 'YOMI' is copyrighted.

Top comments (0)