DEV Community

Konstantinos Anastasiadis
Konstantinos Anastasiadis

Posted on

Can't connect my mern todo app with netlify , i miss the netlify server settings

I am new in MERN fullstack development. I like it very much though, coming from java programming, since 1985.
I have created a very nice application following this site,
https://codingthesmartway.com/the-mern-stack-tutorial-building-a-react-crud-application-from-start-to-finish-part-1/ (parts 1 to 4)
However after some permutations, app it works fine, on my localhost whenever i open my server in my backend directory, using npm start.
I have deployed my project on netlify at the address:
mernfullstack.netlify.app
It also works fine on that web address when i have my local server up, running without problems.
When the server shuts down, MongoDb is dead.
Following is my github:
https://github.com/cca2013/myherokuapp
HEAD master
Am I missing something in order to connect with the internal netlify web server and get access to my db with my mongodb uri?

Great Thanks with regards.

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
simonholdorf profile image
Simon Holdorf

Where is you database running? Locally?