DEV Community

Christophe Colombier
Christophe Colombier

Posted on • Updated on

Is there a feature to mark something as read in dev.to ?

I'm using the forem android app.

I would like to hide/archive/mark as read posts. To make my feed clearer.

The feature exists in the saved articles and it make sense.

Some articles are pushed via tags I follow, but I find them irrelevant. Once read, I would like get read of them.

Is it possible ? Planned ?

EDIT: an github feature request discussion has been opened https://github.com/forem/forem/discussions/18385

Top comments (19)

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington • Edited

I know others have confirmed that we don't have this, but as a member of the DEV Team, I just wanted to hop in and also confirm that we don't have this yet and it's not currently planned!

That said, I think it's a good idea! Would you be up for posting it to GitHub discussions? I wanna chat about this one with the team as I do think it'd be a really great way to improve the feed. Alternatively, I'm happy to initiate the discussion and just mention your post here within the issue!

Collapse
 
ccoveille profile image
Christophe Colombier

I hesitated yesterday. I looked for existing ones and find none. Thanks for confirming me the current status.

I was awaiting some kind of feedback like yours before posting it on github as I already started to discuss here.

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

No problem at all! And really appreciate you putting for the idea publicly for others to weigh in.

All that said, I can't confidently say that we're definitely going to apply this change, but I can confidently say that it's a great idea and very worthy of consideration. I will be advocating for it, but I definitely think we gotta think through the details!

Thread Thread
 
ccoveille profile image
Christophe Colombier

Form is open source. Implementing every single ideas leads to problems 😅

No worries, I known how it works. Suggestion, possibility discussion and ages later if it enters to roadmap an implementation

Thread Thread
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Rock on! Yeah, you nailed it. It's a process.

Thanks so much for contributing your idea — I think there's a lotta potential there!

Collapse
 
cicirello profile image
Vincent A. Cicirello

I don't think there is such a feature in the feed. At least I can't find such an option. Some posts may end up remaining in your feed longer if especially popular, such as many hearts and unicorns and an active discussion in comments.

Collapse
 
ccoveille profile image
Christophe Colombier

Thanks for confirming me.

Collapse
 
cicirello profile image
Vincent A. Cicirello

You're welcome

Collapse
 
joelbonetr profile image
JoelBonetR 🥇 • Edited

I also find this would be a nice to have, not only in the App but in the web version as well.
@thepracticaldev

Collapse
 
ccoveille profile image
Christophe Colombier

Thanks, now I know it's not only on the android app

Collapse
 
joelbonetr profile image
JoelBonetR 🥇

Nope, I think every single feature of Dev.to is available on any client (Staff please confirm). It simply lacks of this feature.

Collapse
 
jmfayard profile image
Jean-Michel 🕵🏻‍♂️ Fayard • Edited

You ask for the ability to make some articles go away by maintaining yourself a kind of black list of things you don't want to see.
The thing is that the internet and even DEV.to at its scale is in its essence an infinite stream of content.
IMHO you are volunteering to fight an uphill battle that can't be won.
It makes more sense to build for yourself a white list of things you want to pay attention.
Which could be very well be dev.to/readinglist which you can bookmark as a second home page.
Like I just did.
The feed then becomes the place you go to when your reading list is empty/uninteresting and it matters less if it's somewhat noisy as it inevatibly will be.

Collapse
 
ccoveille profile image
Christophe Colombier

I'm not looking this as a black list

It's more a zero email box idea, or get things done.

I'm organized, seeing the sane post I previously read visible in my relevant feed appears for days.

I like to keep things clean.

Collapse
 
jmfayard profile image
Jean-Michel 🕵🏻‍♂️ Fayard • Edited

Oh I see. Inbox zero and getting things done are good examples of methodologies I personally experienced to be irrealist (for me) so if they work for you, you can ignore my answer.

Collapse
 
cicirello profile image
Vincent A. Cicirello

@jmfayard cool strategy

Collapse
 
jmfayard profile image
Jean-Michel 🕵🏻‍♂️ Fayard

It was just an idea at the time of the comment, but since then I actually started to do it. Just I realized I need a reading list not only for articles on DEV.to, and I can use my own tools.

So currently it looks like this:

Image description

Thread Thread
 
cicirello profile image
Vincent A. Cicirello

You can combine stuff across multiple sites, or even offline, that may. Nice.

Collapse
 
ccoveille profile image
Christophe Colombier
Collapse
 
ccoveille profile image
Christophe Colombier