DEV Community

Cover image for Nevertheless, Lucia Coded in 2022
Lucia Cerchie
Lucia Cerchie

Posted on

Nevertheless, Lucia Coded in 2022

I'm really happy Dev.to is making itself a platform for women in tech to share their experiences -- and I'm double-happy that it's also become a fundraiser for Girls Who Code this year.

I'm a developer, and (not 'but') I'm also a woman, a mom, and a haiku-writer.

Content-- tweets, posts, podcasts, and projects -- is also really important to me, because what I consume affects how I think. It's really important to me that I "lift as I climb", and in turn create my own readable and broadly understandable content. So, I'd like to write my post about people who have inspired me by their inherently welcoming content. I'm going to point out who they are, and how they've helped me.

So here goes.

The Folks at Virtual Coffee

The Virtual Coffee community is incredibly welcoming and kind to those who are new to tech. In particular, there are a couple members that I'd like to thank for their consistently uplifting content.

Bekah Hawrot Weigel

Bekah's content is open and honest. Because I read her content -- on everything from Tensorflow to the effect that trauma had on her journey into tech -- I feel empowered to share my own struggles and express empathy to others.

Ayu Adiati

Ayu has amazing content surround blogging and git, and her learn-in-public attitude inspires me!

Here's one of her articles on how to fetch a branch from the upstream to the local repo.

Cassidy Williams

Cassidy Williams takes true joy in her work, and it's infectious in the content she creates.

If you haven't subscribed to Cassidy's newsletter yet, I encourage you to! I truly enjoy it, especially the weekly coding challenge that she features. Her encouraging responses, even when I've not been able to finish the challenges, have meant a lot to me.

The LadyBug Podcast Crew

Sidney Buckner, Ali Spittel, Kelly Vaughn, and Emma Bostian make up the Ladybug Podcast members. Their podcasts are not only clear and informative, solidifying the basics in the broad topics they cover, but they've been inspiring to me in that the hosts, who I look up to in terms of technical expertise, are comfortable admitting what they don't know (and that's the starting point to knowing more!). You can listen to their latest podcast to see what I mean.

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
aruna profile image
aruna-x

You write with empathy and authority, a wonderful combination. Iā€™m looking forward to checking out these resources. Thank you for sharing this post!

Collapse
 
cerchie profile image
Lucia Cerchie

Thanks @aruna , that means a lot!