DEV Community

Chloe
Chloe

Posted on

Gatsby how much React do you need to know?

I'd like to build a project in Gatsby to compare to my blog which I have built using Gridsome, so I know some Vue but I'm far from an expert. I don't really know React question is how much React would I need to know to get started with Gatsby?

I've done a couple of tutorials on their site and understood enough of it I think but is worth me learning a bit more React first or should I just jump in?

My experience currently is I've built/am building a couple of projects with Vue-cli and my blog is built with Gridsome which is Vue-based and I have read up on Nuxt. I'm interested in learning more about JAMstack too.

I would like to learn some React just to compare and have a broader understanding but do I need to for Gatsby?

Any thoughts/suggestions would be appreciated.

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
adamwakif profile image
Adam WaƘiƑ • Edited

If you can create a project using VueJS, this means that you are familiar with JavaScript .. So React will be easy for you, because they have the same concepts of << Components >>, as you know React is just JavaScript with HTML << jsx >>. You just need to know the syntax of React to Jump to Gatsby

Collapse
 
thewasif profile image
Muhammad Wasif

If you know the syntax and basic concepts of React, you're good to go with Gatsby
It will take an hour to understand Gatsby 😀