DEV Community

whitney
whitney

Posted on

Nevertheless, Whitney Coded

I began/continue to code because...

I started to code because I wanted to be an asset to my team and I wanted to increase my value as I start my career. I have continued to learn how to code because I can see the potential that tech has to effectively change how we educate future generations and how we could improve the quality of life of every human.

I recently overcame...

In college, I was intimidated by the idea of programming. I didn't feel as if I had the ability to learn about computers or software. Two years after graduating and I have finally felt confident enough to learn Python as my first programming language. I overcame the fear I felt whenever I would try to write a simple function and it would fail or have an Error. I have become a warrior, and I don't plan on letting my negative experience stop me from making mistakes, I plan to learn from them.

I want to brag about...

Recently, I've started working on a cool concept that focuses on improving financial literacy for teens through an engaging game. It's a big project that grows every day and I'd like to brag about the fact that I'm spearheading it alone (with the awesome support of an ally!) from creation to its hopeful completion.

My advice for allies to support women and non-binary folks who code is....

For any allies, it's important to show genuine interest in the projects that folks take up without hijacking the work. Don't offer unsolicited advice, just listen! If someone asks for help take it as a compliment that someone believes you can provide the answer they need, not as a sign of weakness or a lack of capability on their part that you have to make up for.

Top comments (0)