DEV Community

Cover image for My Road To Software Engineering
Doug Jones
Doug Jones

Posted on

My Road To Software Engineering

The Beginning

description
I started 2021 with no software engineering experience.
If you would of asked me to type "Hello World" in HTML.
I would of looked at you as if you had 3 three dragon heads.
I was looking to start a new career and find something different.

Career Karma

description
I saw an advertisement for the Career Karma app. I was looking to make a change in my life and find a new direction.
I took the quiz to see if software engineering was right for me. After the quiz I accepted the 21 day challenge (Which I finished) and started my journey into the tech field.

Flatiron

description
After committing to learning about programming. I took a quiz to find the right bootcamps for me. Through some personal research combined with the results of my test. I enrolled in Flatiron School and my commitment to this journey continued.

The Journey

description
Every journey starts with a first step or code in this case. I began learning a new way of thinking and processing information. A new language because let's be honest not everyone speaks code ๐Ÿฅธ. A new community of friends. All of a sudden I went from talking about sports and the latest video games, to text editors, keyboards, and VS code themes.
The world of possibilities to create new things and help improve old one's was opened to me and I jump right in.

The Growth

description
Taking the journey to becoming a software engineer challenged me beyond my limits. The skills I was learning didn't just begin or end with doing coding labs or build projects. They transferred to all areas of life. I was to apply these problem solving processes at my current job, helping to teach my kids how to break problems down and solve them.

The Now

description
When I stated at Flatiron they asked us Why Software Engineering? Now I would say the real question is Why Not?
In a world where more and more things in our everyday lives are being powered by apps and technology continues to grow. Software Engineering really puts the world at your finger tips. I hope you take the journey to

Happy Coding ๐Ÿ‘จ๐Ÿฟโ€๐Ÿ’ป๐Ÿ‘จ๐Ÿปโ€๐Ÿ’ป๐Ÿง‘๐Ÿพโ€๐Ÿ’ป๐Ÿ‘ฉโ€๐Ÿ’ป

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
aleksejrozenpl2 profile image

I have a really nostalgia, I went the same way, only in expertremote.io, remembering those times with a smile)