DEV Community

Doug Jones
Doug Jones

Posted on

What in the Dev do I want?

direction arrows

I recently attend a virtual event for a company looking to advertise themselves to potential new employees for their software engineering department.

Like a lot of these events there was rich history great cultural representation. A current staff member of their software team to help answer Q & A.

But unlike some of the other events I have attended this one was different, because at the end before we all signed off of our session the recruiter gave us all a some advice in this job search process.

Don't just apply for a job... πŸ€”πŸ€”πŸ€”. He said apply for a career 🀯🀯🀯. I know that sounds like such a simple statement, but it was extremely impactful to all of us at the event. He continued to explain, We didn't just go to school or bootcamp or self study just for a job. We did it to start something more. Just cause you check the boxes doesn't mean you fit the company🀯🀯🀯.

He gave us a series of question to ask before applying for any job including the ones available at the company he was representing.

1) What kind of dev do I want to be?
2) Why do I want to be a part of this company?
3) Do I fit the culture?
4) Can I be successful at this place?

On the surface these all seem like simple question, but for the ones who are like me. Just coming out of school and looking to get our first job in tech. Running into the job market full steam ahead without and direction. It may benefit us if we take a step back and answer some of these question and move forward with a better since of direction.

I hope for the ones who are in it, going through or have been through it. These steps will help narrow it down and make it easy for us all to find our place in the tech world.

Happy Coding πŸ‘¨πŸΏβ€πŸ’»πŸ‘¨πŸ»β€πŸ’»πŸ‘©β€πŸ’»πŸ§‘πŸΎβ€πŸ’»

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
keithhirst profile image
Keith Hirst

It doesn't just stop when you get your first job. Keep that goal fluid because you will learn things and that will change who you want to be.

Collapse
 
codejones profile image
Doug Jones

Thank you for the advice this seems small but it will stick with me for the rest of my career.