DEV Community

Derek Comartin - CodeOpinion
Derek Comartin - CodeOpinion

Posted on • Originally published at youtube.com

Where should you use gRPC? And where NOT to use it!

I've recently read a few blogs and watched some videos that compare gRPC with REST as well as GraphQL. It seemed like the majority make the claim that gRPC is the standard for communication between services without giving any real reason why. What I think would be better served is explaining where and the situations where gRPC could be useful and where I'd avoid using it.

Join!

Developer-level members of my YouTube channel or Patreon get access to a private Discord server to chat with other developers about Software Architecture and Design as well as access to source code for any working demo application that I post on my blog or YouTube. Check out the YouTube Membership or Patreon for more info.

Follow CodeOpinion

Twitter
YouTube
Newsletter

Top comments (0)