DEV Community

Gerrit Weiermann
Gerrit Weiermann

Posted on

Using Tailwind like styled-components

Introduction

It is time to learn something new. Yesterday I watched fireships video about TailwindCSS that motivated me to give it a try. Initially, I didn't like it much, because of readability and learning (kind of) a new language.

So I started creating my first button component in React.
With the knowledge I would want to create many more, I quickly missed the easy way I'd create components with styled-components.

I got carried away and made myself a version of styled-components. With the difference that it would just take class names as arguments:

The Tailwind like styled-components

(or however you want to call it).

The development was quite straightforward. But I also wanted to use typescript.
Finding the correct typings took me a long while to accomplish. After all, I finally did finish my prototype. Here's how to use it:

export const Button = tailwind.button`px-2 py-1 m-5 bg-green-500 rounded-md`
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

And I thought it would be also useful to have a set of different stylings you could combine, so I implemented the following as well:

const spacing = "px-2 py-1 m-5"
const primary = "bg-red-500"
const rounded = "rounded-md"

export const Button = tailwind_fn.button(spacing, primary, rounded)
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

Now I'm proud of it and forgot about my previous goal: learning tailwind (lol)
If you are interested in the source code, I uploaded it to pastebin (not github because I'm very lazy :))
It's just 50 lines of code!

It was already there

Also: After doing research I found out this was possible before (obviously), with actually using styled-components itself:

That's it

Thank's for reading and have a nice day :D
Share your thoughts on this if you like :)

Top comments (0)