loading...
Cohere

Watch Us Debug a Race Condition in a Brittle Cypress Test Live on January 3rd, 2019!

zspencer profile image Zee Originally published at wecohere.com ・2 min read

A few weeks ago, we asked the dev.to and broader programming community what programming problems they would like watch being solved on stream in a real-world context. ~40% of you wanted to see us solve a race condition and another 30% wanted to see us solve a brittle JavaScript feature test.

Seeing as Betsy and I are both "yes, and" kind of people (and there happened to be a really good representation of this in one of our technical coaching clients codebases) we figured we could show a race condition in a brittle JavaScript feature test!

If you have:

  • Struggled to figure out when, exactly, test data setup is being completed
  • Been baffled by an undefined or null value while chaining Promises
  • Deleted an end-to-end, browser feature test because "I can show the feature working when I do it, but the browser test is failing!"

Then RSVP to attend our free live-stream on January 3rd from 10 AM PT/1PM ET to 11 AM PT/2PM ET where we will step through diagnosing, debugging, and resolving a race condition in a brittle cypress feature test!

We're both pretty new to the streaming thing and want to limit our exposure to embarrassment; so we're requiring people to RSVP. Attendees will be sent an email a few minutes before the stream starts with a link to join.

We're hoping to record the screen, audio, and video stream for later, but… again.. We're new to streaming video. So no promises.

We'll be monitoring the #RealWorldCode and #UntanglingJS hashtags on Twitter before, throughout and after the stream and would love to hear your questions, thoughts, and insights!


This article was originally published on wecohere.com.

Discussion

pic
Editor guide