DEV Community

Play Button Pause Button
Mike Hingley
Mike Hingley

Posted on

Can't get to the footer of Dev.to

dev.to has an infinite scroll set up - so that makes it almost impossible for a user to access the content in the footer - because as soon as the footer is presented, the scroll system goes ahead a fetches more content.

So does that mean that in order to view the footer I need to view ALL of dev?

All i wanted to do was find the github link to see whether the Dark Mode issue has been reported or not...

Top comments (3)

Collapse
 
kostyatretyak profile image
Костя Третяк

On blog post page you can see the footer.

Collapse
 
computamike profile image
Mike Hingley

I get that I can click on a blog post, and then see the footer - but that sort of begs the question : Why put a footer on a page that I can never access - except by clicking and 'reading' a blog post to access something unconnected to what I want to do, so that I can then access the footer in the blog page.

I guess the point here is that if I scroll to the bottom of the home page, then that might be so that I can access the footer - not to load more content in. Other sites have a "Load More" button - so this might be a better option than infinitely scrolling the page.

Collapse
 
kevinfiol profile image
Kevin Fiol

Agree 100%. Blows my mind this isn't fixed.