DEV Community

Cover image for A workaround for an RDP screen glitch issue on Parallels Desktop 16
Takuya Matsuyama
Takuya Matsuyama

Posted on

A workaround for an RDP screen glitch issue on Parallels Desktop 16

I recently switched from VMWare Fusion to Parallels Desktop for running my Windows and Linux VMs.
VMWare Fusion was unstable - it runs VMs basically fine but often crashed while I was sleeping for some reason. It happened on both Windows and Linux VMs, which looked hard to solve.
So, I tried a free trial of Parallels Desktop and found that it works smoothly without any issue.

But I encountered a strange bug when connected to the Windows VM with Remote Desktop from my laptop.
As you can see above, the screen is glitched, seemed like a GPU issue which makes RDP practically useless.
It turns out that it is a bug introduced in Parallels Desktop 16.

A workaround is to add video.metal=0 to the boot flag like so:

Boot flag

But obviously, it disables the graphic hardware acceleration with macOS' Metal API.
Hope it will be soon fixed.

Anyway, Parallels Desktop is working very well on my mac.

Top comments (0)