DEV Community

Craig Butcher
Craig Butcher

Posted on

Coding makes us happy

After reading Ben's 'Ah to be the justin bieber of open source', what strikes me is the following paragraph after someone's comment on Hacker News regarding "standard Rails mess".

It's true. We are a pretty standard Rails mess. We didn't get here because we write perfect code. We got here because we care a lot about the community. I happen to think that now that we are open source, we may eventually live up to our status as an important web app in the developer community. But that is not where we are today.

It is the same with every project out there including my own. I suffer from anxiety and the thoughts of putting my own repo on Github or contributing to other repos available in case I get slated for it.

Then Ben finished with a simple sentence at the end of it:

Happy coding ❤️

It is all too easy to forget why we enjoy coding in the first place. Have fun!

Top comments (0)