DEV Community

Cover image for 🖥 A Story of 0s & 1s: Building my PC
Chandu J S
Chandu J S

Posted on • Updated on • Originally published at chandujs.dev

🖥 A Story of 0s & 1s: Building my PC

Hello, world! 👋

I am a software developer who has been in the industry since 2013. Currently working as a front-end developer (react) at HootBoard. Here, I want to share my experience of building a PC from scratch.

I am using my Macbook Air for development since 2017. Building a PC was not really in my mind. At first, I thought I will just buy a new MacBook Pro and deal with it. But, there are a few things I always wanted to do. I wanted to move out of the Apple ecosystem and wanted to get a better understanding of how hardware and software work outside the Apple world.

I'm not a pro PC builder but I have assembled PCs before, and that was 7 years ago. A lot changed since then. This is my first time building a PC for myself!. So in a nutshell, I ordered the components from Amazon and assembled it by myself (without having the proper tools 😁 to do it. I still couldn't change an M.2 slot because I don't have the tool to remove the screw holder from the motherboard. Plus, one screw set was missing in the package 🤦)

Usage

My primary use of the computer is for software development. I make websites & mobile applications mostly. The secondary purpose is image processing. I will be using different RAW image processing applications and image stacking softwares to process some of the photos. (Check out my Night Sky Album Are We Alone?)

I've looked into several websites like mdcomputers.in, primeabgb.com, vedantcomputers.com, and of course, amazon.in.
CPU seems cheaper in a local shop than the websites. So I bought it from there. The price of other components was different on different websites. But I ended up buying all the other parts from amazon after getting some reviews about the other websites. Mostly trust issues.

Configuration

Here is the components breakdown.

# Component Model
1 CPU Intel i7 10th Generation (10700)
2 Motherboard Asus Prime Z490M-Plus LGA 1200
3 Memory G.Skill Ripjaws V 32GB DDR4 Dual Channel
4 Primary Storage Adata XPG SX8200 Pro 256GB NVME SSD
5 Secondary Storage Seagate Barracuda 2 TB Internal HDD
6 Power Supply Antec NeoEco 650M 80+ Bronze 650W Modular
7 Cabinet Antec P82 Flow
8 Display LG 29" Ultrawide - 29UM69
9 Power Backup APC Back-UPS BE700Y-IND 700VA UPS
10 Keyboard Logitech K230 Compact Wireless Keyboard
11 Mouse HP Z3700 Wireless Mouse
12 WiFi NIC TP-Link AC1200 Wireless WiFi PCIe Card

Display

In terms of display, my choice will be always a single ultrawide display. Maybe it's just me. But having multiple monitors in front of me is a mess for me. I usually take advantage of the multiple workspace feature in Operating Systems. So, a dual (or more) display arrangement is definitely not my interest.

Storage

I try to keep everything very minimal. For me, a 256 GB SSD is enough for my usage. My Macbook Air is a 256GB variant. I am using it for all of my personal needs. I still have more than 50% of space left on it. So, getting a fancy 1TB or 500GB SSD is overkill for me. I bought a separate Hard Disk specifically for storage.

Operating System

I've worked on all Windows versions from XP to Windows 10, a variety of Linux distros, and Mac OS. And I can say that I don't need Windows in my machine for my daily work. In fact, it's painful for me to do development on a windows machine.

I choose Arch Linux as Operating System. Check out my setup HERE

I always wanted to be a part of the open-source community. And I think being a Linux user could be a major part. I am the kind of guy who skips tutorials in software/games and tries to figure out the solution by myself (and ends up wasting more time 😁). Arch Linux fits really well for me in that case.

Arch Linux

The DIY approach in Arch gives you control over every aspect of your operating system. And the user repository of Arch (AUR) has plenty of software packages. Whatever packages I searched so far is there. And even if the package is not available, you can simply download the source code and build it yourself.

For some people, that sense of accomplishment after successfully installing the software really matters.

Speaking about other accessories, I didn't go for any expensive models for the keyboard and mouse. I thought I will start with something simple and upgrade later. But I spend quite some money on the chair and table.

Wrapping Up

😊

The immense satisfaction and indescribable feeling of pleasure from building your first PC and fine-tuning your operating system is what drives me forward.

Things I learned from my experience.

  • Have patience, it takes time.
  • It's not as daunting as it sounds.
  • Cable management matters.
  • You are your own tech support.
  • Do not buy components just because someone said it's cool!
  • Do not turn on the Chassis Intrusion Detection option in BIOS if your chassis doesn't have that feature.
  • If you want to reset the BIOS, shutdown and remove the battery from the motherboard and then short the BIOS reset pins.
  • Always refer to the motherboard manual.
  • Have a proper & stable power connection for your PC.
  • Have good tools.
  • Make sure you have an active internet connection and a computer with you during the process.

I've created a Google Photos album with some of the photos of the process. Have a look at A Story of 0s & 1s.

Let me know what you guys think about my setup.
Feedback appreciated. 😊

Top comments (0)