DEV Community

Cover image for Day 1 as a Mobile Engineer for a Fin-tech.
Jafaru Emmanuel for Cudium

Posted on • Updated on

Day 1 as a Mobile Engineer for a Fin-tech.

After interviewing and preparing for a long time for a full-time position as a mobile developer.
This piece aims to give unbiased details of my first day in the office.

For the first day, the task I had, was onboarding. I got to meet with the team on ground. I met with the HR, product manager, the backend devs, the mobile dev, the design team, the content team, and the marketing team.

Furthermore, I got my official Pc(MacBook 2017 pro), got my official mail, signed in to all the platforms we use (slack, Zoho, WhatsApp group), got added to the team GitHub repo. I got to set up my dev environment, cloned our repo onto my local environment and run the mobile app on my local device.

At that exact moment, the feeling was really awesome. A breath of relief. I was so sure that my teammates could see the smile and my face and read clearly the thoughts in my head.

It was a great feeling of Odion, congratulations, you did this, you've come this far, this is progress, celebrate yourself.

After that, I created an account with my company, Cudium, verified my account, did KYC and had a working account with this cross-border payment gateway.

I took a few moments to go around the office, check out the facilities on ground and know what was available in the office. And yes, I connected to the office Wi-Fi 😁😄😜.

Naturally, all these would not have taken an entire day, but coupled with the network speed of my great country Nigeria, It took a great majority of the working day.

At the end of the day, I was a full-fleshed mobile developer in Cudium.

This was a brief of my first day experience.
In the future posts to come, I will share more experience as a developer and navigating the workspace and deadlines and handling burnouts, as well as some essentials that nobody ever mentioned to you as an aspiring developer until you experience them yourself.

Until next time, cheers.
I look forward to engaging with your reactions. Feel free to comment with your own experience, either in summary, or in good details or as a link to a post of your own first experience.

Socials:
LinkedIn: Emmanuel Jafaru

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
jaloplo profile image
Jaime López

Great story. Keep in this way and tell us your experiences. Seems to be a great year, right?

Collapse
 
emmyjaff profile image
Jafaru Emmanuel

It certainly has been, a very interesting one at that. Thank you