DEV Community

cychu42
cychu42

Posted on

A New Vue: A PR With Vue.js

What is it?

This is another contribution to Cuttle, which is a card game that utilize poker cards. The goal is to get to certain amount of points to win while disrupting your opponent.

They uses Vue.js, a framework for creating interface, which is rather new to me.

The PR

Image description
For this one, I was asked to wrap the re-connection page's text input fields(account and password) in a form element to comply with HTML convention. Also, I needed to add @submit.prevent="login" to stop unwanted submission of the form.

Process

Because this is a new framework for me, it took me some time to grasp how things work from looking at its website.
Some of the code used in the page I was supposed to edit remind me of Bootstrap, where you would see special named elements for rendering a page. As with most new tool, I start from looking at the getting started section of the site, which usually has some more beginner friendly information to help you understand the basic.
I tried to grasp some basic, and given that the PR isn't complex, I was able to have some understanding of the code structure to know how to place the form element. Using @submit.prevent="login" to stop unwanted submission reminds me of use of e.preventDefault() from React.js.

Learning

Depending on how much I work on the repo, I might get more into learning Vue.js. It's always interesting to learn something new, especially you didn't even know it existed. After learning several tools and language, I find I often instinctively compare them and lean on languages and tools I know to help me understand then new ones. "Oh, so This like A but X!"
As far as growth since Hacktoberfest, having been exposed to a new framework definitely counts as growth in my book.

Top comments (0)