DEV Community

Cover image for How to make money with your content?
Chris Bongers
Chris Bongers

Posted on • Originally published at daily-dev-tips.com

How to make money with your content?

If you are spending so much time writing your articles and helping people solve problems, then what's wrong with getting paid for it?

Nothing right!

So today I'll show you how to make money with your content if you are on either one of these websites:

  • Hashnode
  • Dev.to
  • Hackernoon

We will be using Coil to get paid, which is an amazing system, you buy a subscription and every hour you spend on one specific content page you'll get $0,36.

As you can imagine it won't make you rich, but this is all early days.

To give you an overview, these are my earning till this day:

Uphold earnings

How does it work

So to understand how this all works, there are two main systems.

If you're in the game to earn money, all you need is an Uphold account.

If you're also in it to give back to awesome writers, you can get a subscription at Coil and start paying other writers for the articles you read.

Once you've set up your Uphold account and created your default payment method, you'll be able to visit the "Add Funds" button on top and click "From Interledger Payment Pointer".

Uphold payment pointer

You will need the link that it shows and starts with:

$ilp.uphold.com/
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

Getting paid on Hashnode

If you're on Hashnode you can easily add your payment pointer to your profile by visiting your dashboard.

Next click on "Integrations", at the bottom you will see:
Web Monetization Payment Pointer.

Paste your uphold link here.

Hashnode uphold integration

Getting paid on dev.to

Next, up dev.to just as easily allows payouts.

We can go to our settings > Misc > Web Monetization.

There we can add our payment pointer link.

Dev.to uphold integration

Getting paid on Hackernoon

Hackernoon is another blogging platform, and it too can allow payments through uphold.

Once you are logged in on Hackernoon you'll be able to go to Rewards and add your payment link here.

Hackernoon uphold integration

There you go, three platforms where we can add our uphold payment link!

Thank you for reading, and let's connect!

Thank you for reading my blog. Feel free to subscribe to my email newsletter and connect on Facebook or Twitter

Top comments (49)

Collapse
 
szabgab profile image
Gabor Szabo

That's interesting, but I would like to understand it more.

If Coil pays me to look at articles on dev.to who pays Coil and why is this transaction worth to them? Is it "only" that now Coil will also collect information about my web behaviour or is there something else?

Collapse
 
dailydevtips1 profile image
Chris Bongers

Oke so Coil is a subscription.

You as a person can get a Coil subscription for let's say 5$ a month, those 5$ will get pushed to people's articles you are watching, the longer you stay on one article, the more that person will receive.

I for one have a Coil subscription because I see value in what I read online and would like to give back, needless to say, it's not mandatory and only if you are cool with it should you get a Coil subscription.

I hope that makes sense, and clear how it works?

Collapse
 
szabgab profile image
Gabor Szabo • Edited

I see, the talk about "Add Funds" in the article confused me.

So as an author I don't need to add funds, just sign up and add their code to dev.to (or to my own web site) and the money starts flowing. Or dripping, probably. Sounds promising.

However, I am still a bit unclear, as a read why would I give money to Coil that will end up who-knows-where? With Patreon I can support the specific people I like. With Coil I might pay a web site where I spent time while I don't actually enjoyed being there.
e.g. I can imaging the IRS in the US getting paid by Coil for all the time people are on their site trying to fill out their form.
Same with Facebook, sometimes I waste my time browsing Facebook. With Coil set up it is not enough that I waste my time (which I know is my problem), but now I might even pay Facebook for that. And I still see their ads.

Thread Thread
 
dailydevtips1 profile image
Chris Bongers

Ah ok clear, the Add Funds is to receive money back actually haha, weird naming.

As an author you literally have to do nothing, just add the meta tag from uphold and you can start to earn.

Well Patreon is cool, but it's one-directional.
How about that one person who you've only read one article from, but that helped you immense.

Perhaps you wouldn't support his Patreon, but now you would support this article in specific.

So you can setup coil to only pay for specific content as well as I understand correctly., it will only fire on certain sites, like not facebook as is now.

Thread Thread
 
szabgab profile image
Gabor Szabo

Thanks for all the fast responses!

Oh, so the "Add Fund" is really confusing then.

I can clearly see the value of somehow paying an author for an individual article a few cents, (and as an author being paid for all the content I create) I am just worried the lack of control the paying person might feel.

Anyway, I looked at the HTML source of the homepage dev.to. It has the following entry:

<meta name="monetization" content="$ilp.uphold.com/24HhrUGG7ekn">
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

I assume that means dev.to monetizes the homepage and probably all the pages via Uphold.

I also looked at the source of this page - your post - and it had the same entry with the same value.

Does that mean you have not configured the monetization on dev.to yet?

Thread Thread
 
szabgab profile image
Gabor Szabo

Oh and I clearly missed the last sentence from your previous comment about setting the sites. That explains it. I'll check it out.

Thread Thread
 
dailydevtips1 profile image
Chris Bongers

They use a base payment pointer, and an author one I see, so they are probably also getting some cash from this.

Thread Thread
 
szabgab profile image
Gabor Szabo

Where do you see the "author one"?

Thread Thread
 
dailydevtips1 profile image
Chris Bongers

Main one:

<meta name="monetization" content="$ilp.uphold.com/24HhrUGG7ekn">
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

Pointers:

<div id="base-payment-pointer" data-payment-pointer="$ilp.uphold.com/24HhrUGG7ekn"></div>
// Author
<div id="author-payment-pointer" data-payment-pointer="$ilp.uphold.com/2gJj2MkgGJ64"></div>
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode
Thread Thread
 
szabgab profile image
Gabor Szabo

Thanks!

Collapse
 
anurag629 profile image
Anurag Verma

Hi @dailydevtips1 my country(INDIA) is not in uphold list. Is there any other option. Please help....

Collapse
 
dailydevtips1 profile image
Chris Bongers

Not sure about country support if i'm honest.
Perhaps best to reach out to their support system.

Collapse
 
chintanonweb profile image
chintanonweb

same question!

Collapse
 
chintanonweb profile image
chintanonweb

Have you find anything?

Collapse
 
anurag629 profile image
Anurag Verma

No

Collapse
 
jenueldev profile image
Jenuel Oras Ganawed

wait it seems uphold has changed its UI, how to find it in the new uphold view.

Collapse
 
dailydevtips1 profile image
Chris Bongers

In the new UI, you'll have to add a fund, and then click the three dots on that fund type to open the payment pointer.

I'll try and update the article soon.

Collapse
 
jenueldev profile image
Jenuel Oras Ganawed

I see it now,, thanks a lot :)

Collapse
 
ug profile image
Ujjwal (UG THE SEP)

@dailydevtips1 can you help me I have create coil as well as uphold account and also add payment pointer but in dev no Misc Option is visible to me please help bro

Collapse
 
dailydevtips1 profile image
Chris Bongers

Hi! It's now under "Extensions" -> Web monetization

Hope that helps! 🎉

Collapse
 
ug profile image
Ujjwal (UG THE SEP)

I added my payment pointer in it now what to do
Thanks in advance

Thread Thread
 
dailydevtips1 profile image
Chris Bongers

That should be all that is needed! 🎉

Thread Thread
 
ug profile image
Ujjwal (UG THE SEP) • Edited

So How would dev pay money to my coil account 🤔
and when,
Like I get 10,000 + views/post

Thread Thread
 
dailydevtips1 profile image
Chris Bongers

That will be through your payment pointer, but really dependant on people with Coil visiting your articles.
It's not really view related.

Thread Thread
 
ug profile image
Ujjwal (UG THE SEP)

What do you means by Coil visiting articles

Thread Thread
 
dailydevtips1 profile image
Chris Bongers

So how it works is that you get paid for everyone who uses the coil subscription that visits your site for x amount of time.

It basically means that you only get paid from users who visit and have the coil subscription to pay out writers.

Thread Thread
 
ug profile image
Ujjwal (UG THE SEP)

Ohh
That not too good🙄

Collapse
 
simonholdorf profile image
Simon Holdorf

I just deleted my Coil Account today because they exposed their users' email-addresses publicly. It's unacceptable for me!

Collapse
 
dailydevtips1 profile image
Chris Bongers

Yep, did get the mail only this morning, quite a miss for launching this article...
Really sloppy indeed!

Collapse
 
simonholdorf profile image
Simon Holdorf

Yeah, just bad timing :D

Really not so cool if you want to handle money and stuff and can't keep email addresses privately, right?

The idea behind it is still good, so I guess that will stick around, be it with or without coil...

Thread Thread
 
dailydevtips1 profile image
Chris Bongers

Yep! 100% like that's such a high risk and not even your core business..

But well, at least we can bypass Coil for now just by using uphold as the receiver

Thread Thread
 
simonholdorf profile image
Simon Holdorf

Offtopic: Love your posts btw, keep rollin' :)

Thread Thread
 
dailydevtips1 profile image
Chris Bongers

Wow, thanks Simon, will do

Collapse
 
jeffthorsen777 profile image
Jeff Thorsen • Edited

Very interesting article. Unfortunately, it is not always possible to get the required amount in this way. I trust the installment loans maybeloan.com/installment-loans which have helped me out more than once. When the washing machine, the refrigerator and air conditioner once broke down in my house, I had to seek for help because of the wiring. Such loans are great in force majeure circumstances.

Collapse
 
dailydevtips1 profile image
Chris Bongers

Thanks Jeff, glad you liked it

Collapse
 
dailydevtips1 profile image
Chris Bongers

Agreed, writing to make money is shit,
But then again how do you explain top x post being in the top lists of dev.to for instance not just weekly, but all-time list.

I don't think those are bad content at all or written to make money from.

This whole concept is just something you do not to earn money, see above you hardly earn cents.
But when you are writing with passion, why not earn those couple cents?

Collapse
 
ssukhpinder profile image
Sukhpinder Singh

That's interesting. I did follow the above steps and linked, may I know when I receive the money? I have been checking on uphold account but no pennies so far.

Collapse
 
dailydevtips1 profile image
Chris Bongers

Uphold is no big money maker, and a lot of people have stepped away from using it as paying customers so don't expect too much from that one now.

Collapse
 
ssukhpinder profile image
Sukhpinder Singh

Is there any other way?

Thread Thread
 
dailydevtips1 profile image
Chris Bongers

Hmm ads are you're best bet or writing guest blog post?

Collapse
 
kayis profile image
K

I like the idea, but I made like 0.02€ this over the last six months.

Collapse
 
dailydevtips1 profile image
Chris Bongers

Haha yeah not a gold mine, also won't help that Coil messed up last night...
they leaked a lot of email addresses and they were the only subscription manager for now.

But when more come revenue could increase.

Collapse
 
kayis profile image
K

I have the feeling my email addresses got leak so often in the last years; one more or less doesn't matter anymore D:

Currently, I make most of my money with commissioned articles and DevRel consulting.

Collapse
 
hexblit profile image
Hexblit

Just a heads up this is no longer relevant,
support.uphold.com/hc/en-us/articl...

Coil has decided to sunset its service on March 15th, 2023. Accordingly, Uphold will be disabling Interledger Payment Pointers and all other associated Interledger features on that date.
Uphold is proud to have been a close partner of Coil these past few years and looks forward to seeing the world of Web Monetization live on through the Interledger Foundation.

Collapse
 
danytulumidis profile image
Dany Tulumidis

thanks for sharing this! Seems pretty simple to set this up.

Collapse
 
dailydevtips1 profile image
Chris Bongers

Yes, literally just adding the pointer that's it ✌️

Collapse
 
adii9 profile image
Aditya Mathur

I am trying to make an account on uphold but I am not able to as I live in India and my country is not listed under place of residence. Any other way I can get my dev.to monetized?

Collapse
 
blazestudios23 profile image
Andrew Obrigewitsch

Coil is out of business, this article needs an update.

Collapse
 
zitan profile image
Zitan

May I use Payoneer account instead of uphold?