DEV Community

Damilola Amushan
Damilola Amushan

Posted on

My Backend Journey: The Big Problem I Solved and My Path to the HNG Internship

Damilola Amushan – Junior back-end developer.

I began my coding journey in late 2023 when I first started out as a full-stack web developer first receiving training in the front-end track and subsequently in the back-end track.

During the period of my training, I encountered numerous challenges that I had to overcome. One that stands out however, was a database connection failure which I call the “the big problem.”

To solve my big problem, the first thing I did was to check for any typographical errors in my code, as even mistakes as little as a typo can affect the result of your code. But after a review of my written code, I had identified zero typos moving me to the next attempt at a solution, server inspection.

I opened the terminal on my IDE to see if my server was up and running. After checking, I discovered that my server was indeed up and running. As a final server check, I decided to kill the server and restart it using the command php artisan serve. However even after doing so, the database connection still failed.

At this point, I started to fear that much bigger steps would need to be taken in order for this big problem to be solved. This realisation led me to check if I had exceeded my database limits, a suggestion I was received from ChatGPT. I went ahead to run the suggested code netstat -aon ,which displayed all listening established ports. I saw that I had not exceeded the database limit leading me to yet another dead end.

Now, I was beginning to get annoyed. Turning to chatGPT yet again, I received another suggestion I could try, configuring firewall settings. I learned that a firewall setting might be preventing my database from successfully connecting. Putting my annoyance aside, I tried again, this time going to my firewall settings and allowing inbound traffic from the specific port I was attempting to connect my database with. Here’s a rundown of how I did it:

I opened the Windows Defender Firewall, clicked on advanced settings in the sidebar and then selected inbound rules.
On the right, I selected new rule.
I then selected the rule type which was port and then clicked next.
I chose TCP and then entered the specific port number 3306, clicking next afterwards.
I selected all three options as I wanted the rule to apply for Domain, Public and Private.
I finished by naming the rule “MySQL Inbound Rule”
At last I had hit the jackpot. I established a successful connection and the big problem had been solved.

The big problem had taught me quite a lot. Not only did I learn more about coding, but I also learned a bit about myself. It taught me to develop more patience and problem-solving skills which would be useful throughout my coding career.

A friend of mine informed me of a way to develop as a back-end developer. He made mention of an internship program known as HNG Internships and suggested that I enroll. I gave it some thought and decided that it would be a brilliant opportunity to sharpen my skill especially since it was free. I visited their website and began the enrollment procedure. Along the way, I found out that there was an option to get HNG Premium which was an opportunity to participate in the internship as a premium member. Going through the additional perks, such as CV reviews, mock interviews and access to the latest job openings, I decided it was a good deal and seeing as it attracted a fair price, I went for it. I am now awaiting its start in January of 2025.

I hope this program will help me sharpen my coding skill, efficiency and speed. I also hope to become a better problem solver by the end of the internship. One important goal I have is to improve my teamwork skills. I have little knowledge on working in teams and I would want to have a taste of team work involving people from my track and other tech-related tracks like, design, analysis and front-end development.

I hope you enjoyed this read and found some helpful tips for dealing with database connection problems. Feel free to visit the HNG website using the embedded links. Take care!

Top comments (0)