DEV Community

Cover image for Overcoming Impostor Syndrome
Damilola Owolabi
Damilola Owolabi

Posted on

Overcoming Impostor Syndrome

It’s been over 4months since I promised I was going to write about how I overcame Impostor syndrome. I’m so sorry it came late.

But right within me i knew I was nervous and fighting impostor syndrome. "Impostor syndrome sucks"... Thanks to Segun Onilude(A friend), who adviced me and his advice did helped. I would definitely write about how I overcame impostor syndrome in my next article. (Excerpt from My first month experience as a Frontend Developer Intern at Mira Technologies)

Nevertheless, here are some of the ways that can help you overcome impostor syndrome.

What is imposter syndrome?

Imposter syndrome describes feelings of severe inadequacy and self-doubt that can leave people fearing that they will be exposed as a “fraud”, usually in their work lives.

It’s fairly typical for people with imposter syndrome to encounter thoughts such as “I feel like a fake”, “I don’t trust my own talents and skills”, “Anyone could've done that” and “I don’t deserve my success”. This has really affected a lot of people regardless of their success or academic accomplishments.

“Next time you’re in a situation that feels completely outside your comfort zone, don’t focus on your failures, Consider it your opportunity to learn from your missteps and to bring forth a new perspective that others may not have.” - Andy Molinksy

For several years, I’ve nursed within me that I was not good enough even when opportunities came by, I had to walk away cause I felt I was not good enough – there was a part of me telling me I wasn’t the right fit. Seeing this pattern emerge, I realize I’d been experiencing imposter syndrome.

How to Get Through It

Here are few tips I’ve made to help me whenever I’m struggling with imposter syndrome.

• Know your Identity:

There is a need to understand who you are, how you see yourself really matters -it has a way of shaping your life either positively or negatively. Stop dwelling on your self-doubt. “When I feel overwhelmed because I just can’t do it all, I say to myself that I’m remarkable and I tell myself to get it done”. You aren’t here to live the life of another person. You are just you.

Losing is just part of the game. Don’t glorify failure, but don’t let it make you feel like you’re not a real contender either. Instead, think and say positive thoughts and reinforce them by looking at your accomplishments. Stand firm in who God says you are when you feel like a fraud and you can start to see how you're impacting lives. It works!

God intentionally created us for a purpose: “For we are God’s masterpiece. He has created us anew in Christ Jesus, so we can do the good things he planned for us long ago” (Eph. 2:10). Without question, the Imposter Syndrome will hold us back, preventing us from enjoying and sharing all God has for us but always remember that you’re gifted, wonderful, blessed, loved and you are not in this world by a mistake. I encourage you to Saturate your mind with the truth of God’s Word. It is filled with reminders of His unconditional love for you!

• Celebrate Yourself Always:

After a success, have you dismissed it as just good luck or timing? - Sometimes we forget that we are worth it. To help show yourself that you're actually doing well, keep track of your wins in a private document, this will act as a success remider. But alongside working on your impostor syndrome directly, it can also be beneficial to work on your confidence and self esteem.

Make it an habit to document your wins, testimonials, photos, awards and then visit them when you feel like an imposter. Stop comparing yourself with others. Learn to value your own strengths and once you start respecting your own potential, you will soon realize that you have a lot to offer.

• Say “YES” to opportunities:

While it might be intimidating to take on a role you're not sure you can succeed in, know that you were asked to do it for a reason, and there's nothing wrong with learning new things and asking questions along the way.This helps you to learn, grow, and advance in your career.

Irrespective of how you feel, It takes a lot of courage to pursue challenges even when you're doubtful. Trust me, You can do it. The world needs you to make a difference.

I hope this tips of mine helps, cheers to pushing past your fears and sharing your gifts with the world!

Top comments (0)