DEV Community

Dana Ottaviani
Dana Ottaviani

Posted on

Nevertheless, Dana Coded

I code and I like to read (preferably fiction).

I code and I am learning to improve my drawing.

I code and I like to wake up at 6 am.

I code and I am learning Blender.

I code and I like to take long walks outside.

I code and I don't have all the answers, but I'm doing my best, and that's good enough (I still need to remind myself of this sometimes). ❤️

Why do I code?

I like the idea of being able to create programs for fun and to challenge myself. I truly believe that women and other underrepresented groups are the key to making technology work for everyone. Their experience and perspective will show in their work and help others that aren't in the same place to change it themselves.

Equality in tech looks like…

  • Respecting everyone. Period.
  • Picking others up instead of tearing them down.
  • Realizing that no one knows what another person is going through and just being patient and creating a safe environment can do so much for a person's well-being in their job.

Oh, and destroy that gender-wage gap of course!

Be the change you want to see in the world. 🌎

I’m an expert at…

Learning.

Top comments (3)

Collapse
 
prafulla-codes profile image
Prafulla Raichurkar

Blender seems fun, I've played around a bit with unity 3D and tried to create games, but at that time, I did not know anything about JS and just followed some tutorial on youtube XD. Maybe I will get back to game development soon :)

Collapse
 
missamarakay profile image
Amara Graham

Learning Blender?! That’s awesome! What are you looking to do with it? It’s such an amazing tool but I don’t even know where to start.

Collapse
 
dana94 profile image
Dana Ottaviani

I've just been so inspired by what others have created that I thought since the program is free (and open source) why not try to bring my own creations to life?

I'm currently learning on CGCookie, but there are also tons of free tutorials on Youtube.