DEV Community

danielsear
danielsear

Posted on

Help, save a life

Hi all right with you?!!
I'm new here, and I'm entering the programming world now, after discovering that this is what I want for my life, because I can spend all day programming and never get tired. Currently I have taken courses on youtube and some free platforms in my free time, I am an electrician in the industrial area and I confess that I hate working there, it is a very dangerous place and stressful work conditions. The point I want to make is that I want to dive deep into the world of IT, but I'm having a lot of problems with tool documentation updates, the videos on youtube are very outdated and the tool updates too, and with the stagnation of my productivity. That's why I come to ask you for help with idication of some course you can take, indications about what helped you to enter this market and always renew yourself over time.

Top comments (11)

Collapse
 
guithomas profile image
Guilherme Thomas

If you are still learning a language, don't overfocus on documentation. You'll mostly work on small personal projects, so your documentation will be small too, focus on describing your project in a succint way.

Collapse
 
Sloan, the sloth mascot
Comment deleted
Collapse
 
danielsear profile image
danielsear

Thanks, I'll look!

Collapse
 
gabrielpedroza profile image
Gabriel Pedroza

Hey Daniel, I understand that your job is very dangerous and I'm glad that you found happiness when programming and can never get tired of it. I was like that because for the first 6 months, I was programming for about 8-10 hours everyday without any burnout. However, what specifically do you want to do in IT. There are a lot of specific things you can do in Comp Sci. For example, I tried being a backend developer but found that it was not for me so I tried frontend and I loved it. I suggest first exploring what Comp Sci really has to offer before diving deep in it. If you think you've found what your ikejime is, learn the programming language for that and everything will slowly start to propagate to you. If you need any guidance, feel free to reach out to me

Collapse
 
danielsear profile image
danielsear

Thank you, I'm very grateful!

Collapse
 
jwhenry3 profile image
Justin Henry • Edited

My advice would be to list out the things you want to accomplish using programming.
Doing this should give you a list of search terms (or variations) in order to figure out what language, what toolchain, what framework, and what technologies in general are best suited to your cause.

As a (for the most part) self taught software engineer, the best advice in addition to that is to start small, learn basics, and build on them with frameworks and languages that seem most natural to you.
For example,

  1. Python and Lua are similar enough that you could learn one and be somewhat comfortable in the other.
  2. C# and Java are similar enough that you could do the same there with some boilerplate adjustments.
  3. JavaScript/TypeScript and PHP are vastly different, but serve similar purposes (at least server side), so you would need to commit to whichever feels more natural in how you write code before diving into one of those languages.

You will destroy your own motivation if you either:

  1. choose a language that cannot achieve your goals
  2. choose a language that is difficult to write or understand
Collapse
 
danielsear profile image
danielsear

Thank you for the words!

Collapse
 
eric23 profile image
Eric

Hi Danielsear 🙂
What type of programming are you interested in? Web dev, apps, games, desktop?

Collapse
 
danielsear profile image
danielsear

Web dev and apps

Collapse
 
gohomewho profile image
Gohomewho

If you are interested in web development, recently I found an amazing Youtube channel called Dave Gray. His content is update to date, free, and well explanation.

Collapse
 
danielsear profile image
danielsear

Thanks, I'll look!