DEV Community

Cover image for Dan's Lifestyle Brands
Typing Turtle
Typing Turtle

Posted on

Dan's Lifestyle Brands

Dan's Lifestyle Brands

This is an ongoing list of things I actively use and enjoy. Many of these have come from years of personal experience, others I stumbled into something I like first try. Comment if you've tried one of these but found something even better.

Feat Hoodie

Branded as the softest hoodie ever I have to agree. The outside is very soft and at first I thought it might be reversible (and wish it was). It's expensive for a hoodie and definitely going to pick up all kinds of dirt and grime easily so why did it make my list? Well, it's beyond comfortable and stretchy. Exactly the opposite of the 10-year-hoodie which for me will last 10 years because it sits in my closet getting no use because it's so dang uncomfortable. The only thing would change about this hoodie is the large cuffs. I also have yet to wash it so this might be off my list quickly.

If you're looking for something soft and durable that you don't need to worry about keeping as nice, I highly recommend the Amazon Essentials hoodie

Ember Mug

Nothing like keeping tea at just the right temperature and not needing to drink it fast. I use this for tea because coffee stains and any milk will heat and form a nasty film on the top over time. This cup is not good for on the go, get a vacuum sealed stainless steel cup to keep things hot when traveling instead because this will only last about an hour.

Get the large version, a big portion of the cup is battery/heating element so it's smaller than it looks in the pictures.

Me Undies

Never go shopping for underwear again. I can't stand bland underwear and love getting these each month. The worst thing about subscriptions is the hassle of canceling them. Me Undies handles this well, I've canceled and re-subscribed several times with no problems.

The only issue I've had is trying to keep track of which pair is the oldest to know what to throw away first.

Socks, undershirts, long sleeve shirts: Uniqlo!

Uniqlo is cheap and astoundingly comfortable. The heattech undershirts are great for winter and the airism for summer. They're durable taking months of washing without losing any comfort or stretch. Same goes for the socks and long sleeve shirts.

The only problem I've had with Uniqlo is that they have so many versions of the shirts that are branded slightly differently and once in a while I'll get something that's not quite as comfy by accident. But it's cheap so no big deal.

Their most expensive socks are about on-par with the nice bambas socks. Honestly a toss up in my mind between those two for winter socks. For summer socks I go with cheap amazon ones I don't mind throwing out more frequently.

Sweatpants

I have yet to find anything I like here. Please let me know if you've found something. I've tried expensive to cheap and nothing sticks out as innovative or interesting.

Seat pad

I went through a few of these before finding this gem. Good price and super comfy. I got one for my wife too.

Hooded Shirt

I hike a lot. In the spring and winter and even sometimes in the summer I'll wear this hooded shirt with a baseball cap. You can throw the hood up to protect from the sun or to give a little extra warmth (not much tho). It's super stretchy and breathable which is perfect for running through the woods. Also great for keeping insects off the arms and neck. In the winter you can also add this to layer up. It's probably the most versatile piece of clothing I own and an incredible price.

Travel Clothing

I've purchased almost everything bluffworks offers and have yet to be disappointed. If they have the shorts in stock grab a few because last time they sold out they were out for 2 years before coming back. If you like pockets you'll love these, there's layered back pockets and zipper pockets in the pockets. Same for the sport coat - so many pockets and zipper pocket inside a sport coat is great. The pants are what initially drew me into this brand. Stretchy and comfortable I'll swap between sweatpants and these pants as they're about equally comfortable. They don't provide much for heat so not for winter hikes but outside of that they are amazing with 4 way stretch and comfort. But the button-up shirts are great, again little hidden zipper pocket and pocket in the breast pocket, love these pockets!

I haven't tried their shirts because I don't see them beating Uniqlo and are more expensive.

Sunglasses

If I ever get sunglasses I go cheap as possible because I don't like trying to take good care of expensive things that are likely going on an adventure with me.

Whisky

There are four primary categories of whisk(e)y I enjoy based on mood, time of year, etc.

  1. Highland, Speyside, Japanese: fruity malts

Light and fruity malts are middle of the road and end up in one of my infinity bottles. These are tasty without overpowering and are the most versatile for pairing with activity or food. To find a good one of these look for something that doesn't mention smoke or peat (or explicitly mentions no peat) that has "non-chill filtered", "no color added", and is 46% ABV or more, also generally lighter color is better. Find one for under $90 if you want to guarantee you won't feel bad if it's not amazing.

  1. Island, Islay: Peaty Malts

Ardbeg, Laphroaig, Lagavulin, Bunnahabhain, bruichladdich, if it's fun to practice and learn to say, it's probably a smokey peaty monster of a scotch. I enjoy these primarily in the winter time to warm up next to a fire or in a travel flask on a nice hike. I keep a separate infinity bottle for these as mixing them with anything will destroy it (wash out your glasses and bottles!). I enjoy the base line of each of these distilleries but also have had great luck with their experimental lines. Most recently Ardbeg Wee Beastie. Prepare to spend $100-150 and not regret it one bit!

  1. High proof, rare, independent bottles

Scottish Malt Whisky Society, Alexander Murray, Single Cask Nation, Gordon & Macphail. I've yet to have anything from any of these bottlers that I didn't thoroughly enjoy. If you can find someone with a SMWS membership it takes the edge off the price too making these some of the best buy's I've ever made. Look for cask strength and single cask when possible (50% ABV minimum!). The huge variety and interesting experience of each one is something to be cherished. I like sipping these over months taking them out only for special occasions or when the feeling really hits.

  1. Bourbon and american malts

The problem with bourbon is not the corn, it's the new oak barrels. They give a wood tannin taste that's overpowering and just not for me. That said, american whiskeys are evolving interesting ways to cover this nasty first-fill taste, most notably by not using first fill casks (not bourbon) or finishing in wine or beer barrels.

I'll enjoy bourbon once in a long while in a larger glass with some ice. Water it down and chill it to take away some of the nasty wood taste and it can be a creamy slightly woody delight.

To find an american whiskey I'll enjoy I look for 46% or higher ABV, malt over grain if possible (aka not bourbon), something finished in wine cask, and it's hard to find but a whiskey not aged in new oak (again, this rules our bourbon). Basically, I don't like bourbon.

Fleece Sheets

There's nothing better than fresh fleece sheets in the winter!

Top comments (0)