DEV Community

Cover image for My Hactoberfest 2020 experience
DEBOJEET JHA
DEBOJEET JHA

Posted on

My Hactoberfest 2020 experience

So yesterday i succesfully completed the hactoberfest-2020 chalanged organised by @digitalocean. I was a noob in the field of open source and this was the first time of me being participating in an open source contribution contest.

For The first few days I didn't have any idea how i am going to complete my 4 pull request as i never did that ,I knew git and github and i was a bit experienced in git but i did not know much about open source. I watched a lot of youtube videos, read a lot of blogs and after all that i finally created my first pull request to one of my friends web development project slowly slowly I started learning things I got introduced to contributing.md , and I also learned markdown , I learned somne basic things about the purpose of .github folder on github.In a nutshell I learned a lot of things.

And after few days of struggle I got a boom from a guy who never made a pull request I made 7 valid pull requests for hacktoberfest ,looking back I really have to say I learned a lot in a short period of time and to all the nooobies in open source i would say that get your hands dirty in open source only that way you guys can really start to learn about open source.
after my experience i can say that the boom you will get from hacktoberfest in the field of open source is unmatched.

my github

Top comments (0)