DEV Community

Salman Ahmed
Salman Ahmed

Posted on

How would kubernetes simplify my deployment

I am currently using a combination of ansible and docker-compose for a an application that I am currently working on. This app will run on a single node for now.

Currently a deployment takes about 90 seconds, most of the time is rebuilding the 4-5 docker images (app, db, redis, etc).

I have played around with kubernetes and was wondering if someone with a little more experience could chime in. Seeing as this app runs on a single node, how would using kubernetes simplify my deployment process? Or would it not make sense seeing that we aren't talking 10+ nodes?

Top comments (3)

Collapse
 
joehobot profile image
Joe Hobot

Are we talking about 1 app and few docker imgs running on a k8s cluster?

I think k8s would be overkill for that, considering you need minimum of like master and 2 worker nodes.

I mean you could try it on like minikube and see if you like it, but imo that would be one costly k8s for 1 app.

However if it pays out , then I have no problem with that setting, except the part that you will need to manage it and figure things out.

Collapse
 
debugging profile image
Salman Ahmed

Yes just 1 app. I really like my setup currently but just wondering if it there is a compelling reason to move to k8s.

Collapse
 
joehobot profile image
Joe Hobot

If you want to test do something like gke and use up those $300 credits for it to test.. (you might as well find out how much will it cost you.)

But other than that , I personally would not bother.

Again, don't get me wrong, you can deploy it and be happy , but why such complexity and cost for 1 app?