DEV Community

Cover image for A helpful dashboard with tools, resources and more, for developers.
DeChamp
DeChamp

Posted on

A helpful dashboard with tools, resources and more, for developers.

I wanted to have a place for some of my tools I need during the day. So I made a little dashboard for just that. I would LOVE to see others in the community use it and build on top of it.

So I figured what's a better way to show it off, then talk about it on dev.to.

Dev.to has been such a great community and I've really appreciated all of you who have provided feed back on my thoughts and writings.

I hope you like the project, it's my first real open source project and I'm excited and nervous to share.

https://coex.dev

Questions for the community.

  • What am I missing for an open source project?
  • Will it be taken serious if I'm hosting the repo on gitlab vs github? I love gitlab but I see everyones repo on github.
  • What tools can I add for you?
  • What do I need to add to make it feel more welcoming to contribute?

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
moopet profile image
Ben Sinclair

You have some of these tools (the base64 and binary ones) in more than once, and I'm not sure what some of them do.

Movies and t-shirts like to tell us that strings can be converted to binary, but that's meaningless. They can be represented by character encodings. You can display the ASCII for something in English or the UTF-x or whatever equivalent for something that isn't, but there's no "this letter is this number", so that's a problem.

It's a nice, clean look for something you find useful, and others might too. Personally, I tend to type "json decode" into DDG if I don't have anything else to hand and it gives me a box like yours and that's good enough for me.

As for improvement suggestions, how about

  1. let people delete or hide boxes they don't use, maybe minimise them to a toolbar or something. Maybe repurpose the "alternative view mode" to be a command pallette.
  2. store preferences in localStorage
  3. let people share their configuration with a code (e.g. what's in localStorage base64-encoded?)
  4. let the "timestamp" box take inputs. People probably want to convert a timestamp they've found in a log somewhere more often than to know the current time.
Collapse
 
dechamp profile image
DeChamp

yes! Love this comment. Thank you for the good old straight forward and clear message. I appreciate it and I agree with you on your points.